Kilmacud win the Alison Davis 7 A-side tournament 2005

Crokes emerge as winners in 2005.


Kilmacud Crokes from Dublin and the host club’s minor team were
the eventual victors in Bray Emmet’s 2nd annual Alison Davis seven-a-side

Inaugurated in 2004, the tournament honours the late Bray player
and again this year was a great success. Player of the tournament
was Leah Horan of Eire Og Greystones. Nine teams entered and played
off a series of group matches leading to semi-finals and finals
in two competitions – The Ali Cup and The Alison Davis Shield.

In the shield semi-finals the Bray minors overcame Newtown and then
in the final came up against their old enemy, Eire Og, who had edged
past Clara in their semi. Bray had to produce a top class performance
to see them off, with goalkeeper Lisa Kavanagh, defender Khalie
Medlar and midfielder Claire O’ Keefe all doing well. Eileen Henley
accepted the shield on behalf of her team.

After the group stages five teams were left in contention for the
cup : Valleymount, Bray Emmets, Blessington, Kilmacud and Carnew.
Bray had the better of Carnew in the play-off game and so went on
to meet Blessington in the semi. This was a very evenly matched
game, as was to be expected, with Bray getting through by just a
couple of points.

The other semi-final (Carnew v Kilmacud) was one of the best games
of the day, with the lead constantly changing hands. In the end,
despite a number of excellent saves from Bridget Kenny in the Carnew
goal, Kilmacud snatched it with virtually the last kick of the game.
So the final came down to the host club against their Dublin visitors.

The last game of the day was a repeat of last years final between
defending champions Bray Emmets “A” and Dublins Kilmacud Crokes.The
Bray girls had the tougher run in to the final, with wins over Eire
Og, Newtown, and Valleymount in the play off, to meet Blessington
in the semi finals.This was a closely contested game that could
have gone either way, however it was the seaside girls that were
the eventual winners by a margin of two points.

The throw in for their final match against Kilmacud crokes was set
for 4.30, and it was the Dublin side that were first off the mark
with a brace of points from the right boot of Paula Hannigan in
the first and third minute of the half,followed a minute later by
a third point from a free by Dervilia Beirne.Bray’s response came
in the tenth minute, Sinead Boland driving the ball past Kilmacud’s
keeper, after an excellent interchange of play between Eadaoine
Lenihan, Aisling O hAnnaidh and Mikaela Shelley, to bring the side
level at the break.

Bray opened up a two point lead within the first minute of the restart,
courtesy of points from O hAnnaidh and Shelley, A minute later Bray’s
pacy forward Sinead Boland was denyed a goal by Kilmacud Crokes
keeper,whose long clearance was collected Maire Ni Argain who tagged
on a point for the Dubs, a minute later Argain linked up with hot
shot Paula Hannigan, finishing the move with a well taken goal to
give her side a two point lead, going in to the last period of the

The home sides tough qualifying games were taking their toll, Kilmacud
piled the pressure on Brays defensive unit of Aoife Heffernan, Niamh
Ryan,and Lisa Brady who worked hard to repel the Dubs attacks,the
constant pressure by Kilmacud paid off, Ann Marie Cahill and Laura
Breathnach notching up a goal a piece, followed by a point from
Denise McGee. Bray’s Eadaoine Lenihan, Sinead Boland and Mikaela
Shelley rowed in with a point each to reduce the deficit, a minute
later Shelley was one on one with Kilmacuds keeper and she snatch
at the shot and sent it to the left of the post and wide, however
it was too little to late for the seasiders, the Dublin visitors
were comfortable winners at full time, with a margin of nine points.

BRAY (1).Christine Murphy. Aoife Heffernan (Capt). Lisa Brady.
Niamh Ryan. Catherine Corbett. Val Hughes. Sinead Boland 1-1. Mikaela
Shelley 0-2. Aisling O hAnnaidh 0-1, Eadaoine Lenihan 0-1
Bray (2). Eileen Henley (Capt). Niamh Coleman. Aine O’ Gorman.
Lisa Kavanagh. Anne Talbot. Helen Kirwan. Khalie Medler. Claire
O’ Keefe.Aisling Growney.
KILMACUD CROKES. Maedhbh Ni Chleirigh.(Capt). Paula Hannigan
1-2. Dervilia Beirne 0-1.Maire Ni Argain 0-1. Ann Marie Cahill 1-0.
Laura Breathnach 2-0. Denise McGee 0-1.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs