Ladies Football Finals Previews

Ladies Football Finals Previews

TG4 Junior Championship Final

Derry v London

Croke Park; 12noon (K Delahunty)


Derry got the better of London in their previous meeting in the Championship group stages earlier this year but London’s experience of being a losing finalist in Croke Park last year could work in their favour.


Derry, who are in search of their first ever All Ireland title, can call on the experience of Glen’s Kathy Conway and Louise Glass who competed in an All Ireland Club Championship final last autumn and confidence will be high after the previous win.


There was two goals between the sides when they met at the start of August but this is expected to be a much closer affair.


DERRY: B Cassidy, N Doherty, N O’Hagan, N McMullan, D McMaster, U Harkin, C Lagan, MA Conway, K Conway, J McLaughlin, A Kealey, S McCallion, U Mullan, L Glass, A McCusker

LONDON: R Cusack, A Murphy, S Daly, R McEvoy, L Tighe, M Jordan, N Keane, N O’Connor, AM Mohan, H Noonan, S Keogh, C Towey, D O’Riordan, L Lodge, B White





TG4 Intermediate Championship Final

Clare v Tipperary

Croke Park; 2.00pm (L McDonagh)


Clare have beaten Tipperary twice already this year and the Banner County must not let complacency slip in if they are to become the first county to win All Ireland titles across all three grades. Una Downes comes in to replace Niamh Keane in the only change to the starting line-up which overcame Longford in the semi-finals.


Tipperary also make one change for the final with Claire Lambert coming in for Mairead Luttrell. Tipp had a good win over last year’s beaten Intermediate finalists Wexford to book their spot in the final but will have to contain Clare’s Eimear Considine and Magella Griffin if they are to claim the Mary Quinn Memorial Cup.


CLARE: D Walsh, L Kelly, S Kelly, M Delaney, G Lynch, T Hehir, S Eustace, S Malone, L Henchy, M Considine, M Kelly, U Downes, A Kelly, E Considine, M Griffin

TIPPERARY: P Hickey, A O’Dwyer, M Corcoran, C Carroll, A O’Dwyer, T McManus, S Costello, A McDermott, M Morrissey, C Lambert, S Carew, J Grant, E Carroll, G O’Brien, E Hanley




TG4 Senior Championship Final

Cork v Monaghan

Croke Park; 4.00pm (K Tighe)


Champion’s Cork have played just three games to reach this year’s final and they are yet to play to their full potential. Norita Kelly returns to midfield after a strong showing from the bench against Tyrone with Briege Corkery returning to the half-back line. Sinead O’Reilly is the one who misses out but none will begrudge the return of Kelly who tore her cruciate in last year’s final.


Monaghan name an unchanged side to the one who impressively dispatched Mayo in the semi-final. The Farney women have the firepower to hurt Cork in the guise of Niamh Kindlon, Ciara McAnespie and Edel Byrne but the question remains – will they be able to contain Cork at the back.


Monaghan will run Cork close and a good start is essential for McAleer’s side but Cork’s class will probably see them lift the Brendan Martin Cup for the fourth time in succession.


CORK: E Harte, C Walsh, A Walsh, L Barret, B Corkery, B Stack, G O’Flynn, J Murphy, N Kelly, N Cleary, M O’Connor, A Murphy, V Mulcahy, A O’Shea, D O’Reilly

MONAGHAN: L Martin, G McNally, S Courtney, C O’Reilly, A McAnespie, A Lennon, F Courtney, A Casey, I Kierans, C McConnell, N Kindlon, T McNally, C McAnespie, E Byrne, N Fahy



Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs