Ladies Football Interpro Squads Announced

Inter Provincial info

Ladies Football Interpro Squads Announced


The squads have been announced for this Saturday’s Ladies Football Inter Provincial Championships taking place in Kinnegad.


The Munster squad includes 12 Cork All Ireland winners including All Stars such as Angela Walsh and Valerie Mulcahy and also features exciting young talent such as Clare’s Eimear Considine.


Defending champions Ulster also bring a formidable pool of players to the tournament. Gregory McGonigle’s side has a strong representation from the Down side that recently won the Bord Gáis Energy NFL Division 2 title including Eliza Downey Kyla Trainor and Aileen Pyers. Armagh midfield general Caroline O’Hanlon leads the Red Hands’ challenge at the weekend.


Connacht return to the competition this year after not competing in ’07. Seven of the Roscommon side that won the NFL Division 3 title are named in the squad and valuable experience comes in the form of Sligo’s Noelle Gormley and Mayo’s Fiona McHale.


Leinster last won this tournament in 2006 and with both Dublin and Laois going well in the league the province certainly has the players to challenge for silverware. Dublin’s Denise Masterson and Laois All Star Brianne Leahy will provide the leadership on the park while O’Moore County duo Martha Kirwan and Aisling O’Loughlin will be charged with keeping the scoreboard ticking over.

Connacht Panel (2009).
1.Katrina Connolly (Sligo)
2.Noelle Tierney (Mayo)
3.Ruth Goodwin (Sligo)
4.Fiona Maye (Sligo)
5.Michelle Carey (Roscommon)
6.Sinead Cooney (Roscommon)
7.Jacqueline Mulligan (Sligo)
8.Marla Candon (Roscommon)
9.Eilise Codd (Sligo)
10.Karen Maloney (Sligo)
11.Fiona McHale (Mayo)
12.Anne-Marie Carley (Roscommon)
13.Emer Casey (Roscommon)
14.Noelle Gormley (Sligo)
15.Imelda McNulty (Sligo)
16.Fiona McLoughlin (Mayo)
17.Tara Taylor (Sligo)
18.Mairead McCawley (Leitrim)
19.Claire Grehan (Roscommon)
20.Claire Kelly (Roscommon)
21.Martina Freyne (Roscommon)
22.Maria Keenehan (Roscommon)
23.Rachel Ryan (Roscommon)
24.Lisa Cafferkey (Mayo)

Manager: Geraldine Carey (Roscommon) Selectors: Pat Costello (Galway), Geraldine Cremer (Leitrim), Fiona McCarthy,
Mary Malone, (Mayo), Ted Maloney, Olivia Grady (Sligo).


Munster panel (2009)
1. Elaine Harte (Cork)
2. Rena Buckley (Cork)
3. Angela Walsh (Cork)
4. Sandra Healy (Limerick)
5. Geraldine O Flynn (Cork)
6. Brid Stack (Cork)
7. Briege Corkery (Cork)
8. Angie McDermott (Tipperary)
9. Norita Kelly (Cork)
10. Nollaig Cleary (Cork)
11. Mary O Connor (Cork)
12. Patrice Dennehy (Kerry)
13. Valerie Mulcahy (Cork)
14. Michelle Ryan (Waterford)
15. Aine Kelly (Clare)
16. Aisling Barrett (Cork)
17. Dymphna O Brien (Limerick)
18. Michelle McGrath (Waterford)
19. Aisling Leonard (Kerry)
20. Rhona Buckley (Cork)
21. Bernie Breen (Kerry)
22. Sarah Houlihan (Kerry)
23. Linda Cronin (Kerry)
24. Aoife Lyons (Kerry)
25. Mairead Morrissey (Tipperary)
26. Eimear Considine (Clare)
27. Margaret O Donoghue (Kerry)
28. Gillian O Brien (Tipperary)
29. Edel Hanley (Tipperary)
30. Mairead Finnegan (Kerry)
Management: Jim McEvoy (Cork), Noel O Connor (Cork) & Shane Roynane (Tipperary)
Ulster Panel 2009
1. Denise Hagan (Armagh)
2. Caoimhe Marley (Armagh)
3. Eliza Downey (Down)
4. Naomi McMullan (Derry)
5. Kathy Conway (Vice Captain) (Derry)
6. Maebh Moriarty (Armagh)
7. Sinead McCleary (Armagh)
8. Caroline O’Hanlon (Captain) (Armagh)
9. Aoife McDonnell (Donegal)
10. Niamh Hegarty (Donegal)
11. Clare Timoney (Antrim)
12. Shauna O’Hagan (Armagh)
13. Aileen Pyers (Down)
14. Michaela Downey (Down)
15. Bronagh Sheridan (Cavan)
16. Emma Kelly (Derry)
17. Dervla Toal (Armagh)
18. Cathy Carey (Antrim)
19. Mags McAlinden (Armagh)
20. Kyla Trainor (Down)
21. Lisa Morgan (Down)
22. Jenna Connell (Down)
23. Donna English (Cavan)
24. Sinead McCoy (Armagh)
25. Clodagh McCann (Armagh)
26. Dervla McMaster (Derry)
27. Roisin O’Keefe (Cavan)
28. Ashling Doonan (Cavan)
29. Ciara Hegarty (Donegal)
30. Diane Toner (Donegal)

Management Team:
Manager: Gregory McGonigle (Armagh)
Selectors: Paddy Donnelly (Tyrone), John Joe Brady (Cavan), Joe Lagan (Derry), John McCarthy
Liaison Officer: Abby Brady (Cavan)
Physio: Noel Rice

Leinster Panel 2009
1 Cliodhna O ‘Connor (Dublin)
2 Maria Kavanagh (Dublin)
3 Sharon Tracey (Longford)
4 Siobhan McGrath (Dublin)
5 Louise McKeever (Meath)
6 Brianne Leahy (Kildare)
7 Patricia Fogarty (Laois)
8 Noelle Early (Kildare)
9 Denise Masterson (c) (Dublin)
10 Grainne Nulty (Meath)
11 Allison Smith (Longford)
12 Sinead Ahern (Dublin)
13 Michelle Doyle (Wexford)
14 Martha Kirwan (Laois)
15 Aileen O Loughlin (Laois)
16 Mary Rose Kelly (Wexford)
17 Aisling Jennings (Kildare)
18 Eaedin Murray (Meath)
19 Noelle Comyne (Dublin)
20 Aisling Quigley (Laois)
21 Denise Murtagh (Longford)
22 Aine Gately (Kildare)
23 Avril Cluxton (Dublin)
24 Fiona Claffey (Westmeath)
25 Aisling Holton (Kildare)
26 Claire Coffey (Meath)
27 Fiona Blessington (Longford)
28 Aoife Watters (Wexford)
29 Aoife Herbert (Kildare)
30 Caoilfhionn Deeny (Wicklow)

Management Bill Daly (Dublin), Sean McMullin (Longford), Gerry McGill (Dublin), Brendan Dardis (Meath)

Inter Provincial Championships Fixtures


Saturday 30th May, 2009
Kinnegad, GAA Club, Co Westmeath


Round 1 Matches
Connacht v Leinster; 11.00am
Munster v Ulster; 11.00am

Round 2 Matches
Connacht v Munster; 12.30pm
Leinster v Ulster; 12.30pm


Round 3 Matches
Connacht v Ulster 2.00pm
Leinster v Munster 2.00pm


Shield Final; 3.45pm
Inter Provincial Final; 4.30pm


All games are 20 minutes per half with a 10 minute interval
Three points for a win one point for a draw
Any tie will be decided by penalties – 5 penalties where goals and points count

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs