2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Ladies football Munster roundup

Ladies football Munster roundup

By Fr Liam Kelleher


As the stage is set for what promises to
be a unique All-Ireland Senior final, which has the novel pairing
of Cork and Armagh. Armagh the junior champions from last year, confounded
the critics when defeating 2004 champions Galway albeit, controversially,
who had won the junior title 2 years previously. It will be all on
the big day in Croke Park, but certainly

Armagh will add glamour to the big occasion, and who knows they may
cause another shock. On their way to the final Cork defeated Waterford
comprehensively in a very one sided and uneventful final, to take
their 3rd final on the trot and had the satisfaction of defeating
Waterford for the first time ever in a Munster final. Score 1-17 to
1-6 the goals coming from

Caoimhe Creedon just before half time, with Aoife Murphy netting right
at he death. Corks sternest test in defence of their title came against

They struggled for the opening period, but a fine 2nd half performance
secured their passage to the final on a score line of 2-12 to 1-11.
Laois were next up and free scoring Laois were expected to give Cork
a severe examination. The Cork defence marshalled by Angela Walsh,
Rena Buckley and Briege Corkery snuffed out the danger of the Laois
attack from an early

stage and had the game virtually won at the short whistle. A brace
of 3 late points gave the scoreboard a more respectable look, the
champions easily made it to the big day. Final Score 1-12 Laois 0-8.

Clare ecstasy and agony.

Clare dropped down a grade this year after getting a few severe drubbings
last year at Senior. They lured a few of their stalwarts from 5 years
ago back out of retirement and came into the Championship with renewed
vigour. Limerick was their opponents in the Munster final and not
Cork or Tipp as many expected. In a one sided final Limerick could
never come to

terms with a much physically stronger Banner outfit. Clare took their
first junior title in a decade. Led by inspiring Capt Majella Griffin
who scored 0-8 closely followed in the scoring stakes by Myra Daly
2-1, Louise Henchy 1-2 and points from Niamh Keane and Marie Considine
totalling 3-13 to Limerick’s 1-8. They were on top against Fermanagh
in the quarter final with the score of 4-12 to 1-10. There was heartbreak
for them in he Semi-final at Tullamore losing to Sligo. Two of their
most prominent players were in juried in he opening period Majella
Griffin Capt. and Louise Henchy. Despite this huge major double blow
they still had enough chances to close out the game and certainly,
tie it, with a late free after trailing 2-5 to 1-6 at the break. With
clock counting down, Aine Kelly was just wide with a free from a difficult
angle. leaving the final score Sligo 2-12 Clare 1-14 Sligo breatheda
collective sigh of relief, to reach their 3rd final in a row, There
they will meet their Connaught conquerors Leitrim. So will it be a
third time lucky for them.


Cork who had won their 7th under 14 title on the trot, after a comprehensive
win over Kerry faced Donegal in the quarter final Cork had a facile
win and in the Semi took a long time to get over a very strong physical
Laois team.

All was set for a cracking final against the Dubs in Birr. In a very
high scoring game with quality football, the rebels took their 5th
title in 7 years and their first sine 2004 with a whopping score of
11-6 with the Dubs answering with 5-6. Emily O’Callaghan scored 5-4
for Cork while player of the match Ciara Sherlock notched 4-0.

Under 16.

After scoring big wins against Limerick and Tipp Cork looked odds
on to take their 6th under 16 Munster title on the trot. They came
up against a well drilled Kerry team in the Munster final in Killarney
and were fortunate to come away with a win in a high scoring game
4-14 to 6-4 This Cork under 16 team continued to blow hot and cold,
they were out of it in the quarter final against Galway and were lucky
to be ahead at he break, a scintillating 2nd half performance saw
off Galway 6-12 to 2-8. Cork repeated cold mode in the first half
of the Semi-Final against Kerry and looked in trouble at the break
trailing by 3 points, with the wind to face. However they completely
dominated the 2nd half and had Kerry on the ropes long before the
end. Score 3-14 to 3-5. In the final Cork were going fro 3 in a row
as well as a clean sweep of Provincial and All-Ireland underage titles.
They went in a slight favourites but Dublin ignored the script and
tore into Cork from the off and raced in to a 1-4 lead before Corks
last point from Rhona Buckley. Cork reduced the gap to just 2, but
they were powerless, as Dublin opened up a 10-point interval lead.
That was

extended to 14; a minute into the 2nd half and Cork’s historic treble
was in tatters. Cork attacked Dublin incessantly but found keeper
Hannah Tyrell player of the match and a blanket cover of up to 11
players barring their way. Late goals put the icing on the cake for
the Dubs and they certainly made up for the disappointment of 2005.


Cork won the Munster title before the exam break and resumed their
campaign with a tremendous game against Dublin in the Semi-final in
Thurles. This was a heart stopping game, which the Dubs looked likely
to win, with 5 minutes to go. Cork fought back to send the game into
extra time and while Dublin led at the break Cork dominated 2nd period
and went on to win by 4

points 5-14 to 3-15. The final against Galway was also a ding-dong

Galway looked home and dry leading by 2 points with time almost up,
but there were to be 2 further twists in the game. Rhoha Buckley who
had scored 4 gaols against Dublin rescued Cork with a brilliant goal,
but Galway deservedly snatched a draw before the final whistle. The
final proved to be damp squib with Cork dominating from the first
whistle, to run out easy winners 1-22 to -0-8 with Amanda Murphy notching
13 points in winning her incredible 13th National title. Her haul
includes 4 under 14 All-Ireland

titles, 3 under 16, 3 minor, One Senior. 2 National Leagues, as well
as 2 Feile titles with her club Beara and 2 Feile Skills competitions
at 17 years of age what’s left but a possible All-Star B Competitions.

Waterford annexed the Munster minor B title. They also captured the
under 16 title and lost out by a point to Roscommon. Clare and Limerick
made it an all Munster under 14 B all Ireland final with the Banner
girls taking the crown.




Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs