Ladies Football round-up

Ladies Football round-up

Ladies Football


By Jackie Cahill


LAOIS rekindled their TG4 All-Ireland Ladies senior football championship dreams in Tullamore on Sunday evening as they cruised into round 2 of the qualifiers with twelve points to spare against Tipperary.

The O’Moore County ran out 0-15 to 0-3 winners at a damp O’Connor Park as corner back Lorraine Muckian claimed the player of the match award.

Laois, with Allstar Tracey Lawlor back in their ranks following a long injury layoff, proved far too strong for last year’s All-Ireland intermediate champions.

However, Laois face tough opposition in round 2 as Sunday’s draw pitted them with beaten Connacht finalists Mayo.

Aileen O’Loughlin and Mary Kirwan scored three points each in the first half as Laois led by 0-9 to 0-2 at the break against Tipp.

Tipperary struggled for inspiration in front of goal and it was a rare off-day for Allstar forward Edel Hanley, who missed three first half frees from very scoreable positions.

Having established a seven-point interval lead, the second half was a procession for Laois as Tipp were restricted to just a single point, a free from Ann Marie O’Gorman.

And fittingly, Lawlor clipped over the final score of the game to crown a routine success for Laois, who were surprisingly knocked out of the Leinster championship by Kildare.

Tipp, beaten Division 2 finalists this year, have found life tough in the senior ranks and after losing to Kerry in Munster, their season is now over after two games.

Meanwhile, Donegal caused an upset in the All-Ireland minor A championship final as they scored a 5-13 to 5-5 victory against pre-match favourites Clare in Tullamore.

Geraldine McLaughlin was the undoubted star of the show for the north-westerners as the Termon star hit 3-5.

McLaughlin’s haul included 2-3 from play and the full-forward took the game by the scruff of the neck in the final quarter as Donegal claimed a very first All-Ireland title at this grade.

Donegal had lost All-Ireland U16 and U14 finals with this group of players in recent years but they put that heartbreak to bed with a resounding eight-point success.

Goals from top scorer Niamh O’Dea and Aoife Murphy had Clare 2-2 to 0-3 in front before Roisín Friel netted Donegal’s first goal with 21 minutes on the watch.

McLaughlin levelled the scores at 2-3 each with her first goal before Donegal’s Eilish Ward and Clare’s Shonagh Enright traded goals before half-time as the sides ended the half level at 3-3 apiece.

The tie remained in the balance before the lethal McLaughlin cut loose with a run of 2-5 without reply for Donegal at a crucial stage, a remarkable run of scoring which comprised of a penalty goal, a free and 1-3 from play.

Donegal were brilliantly served by Geraldine and Niamh McLaughlin while Ciara Hegarty, who scored 0-2 from play, was honoured with the player of the match award.

Clare, unsuccessful in their quest for a first minor title since 1990, were best served by O’Dea, Enright, Sarah Bohannon and Louise Woods.




Laois scorers: Mary Kirwan 0-4 (1f), A O’Loughlin (0-1 pen) & T Lawlor (2f), 0-3 each, Martha Kirwan 0-2, A Casey, M Dunne & N Kirwan (f) 0-1 each.


Tipperary scorers: A O’Dwyer, G O’Brien & AM O’Gorman (f) 0-1 each.



Donegal scorers: G McLaughlin 3-5 (1-0 pen, 0-2f), E Ward 1-3, R Friel 1-0, C Hegarty 0-2, T Kennedy, R McDonald & N McLaughlin 0-1 each.


Clare scorers: N O’Dea 2-2 (1-1f), S Enright, S Bohannon & A Murphy 1-0 each, A Considine 0-2 (1f), E Considine 0-1.



TG4 All-Ireland Ladies SFC round 2 qualifier draw.


Monaghan v Down.
Kerry v Meath
Kildare v Sligo
Mayo v Laois.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs