Ladies Football wrap

Ladies Football wrap


by Jackie Cahill

LAST year’s runners-up Dublin came good towards the finish against Laois on Saturday to book their place in the 2010 TG4 All-Ireland Ladies senior football championship final.

The Jackies now have the chance to make amends for last year’s final defeat to Cork when they face Tyrone or Kerry at Croke Park on Sunday, September 26.

Dublin beat Laois for the second time in championship football this year, having also won the TG4 Leinster decider, and the Sky Blues showed true grit to pull a hard-fought All-Ireland semi-final out of the fire on a 1-8 to 0-9 scoreline.

Laois had a player of the match performance from Aileen O’Loughlin and after the inspirational midfielder kicked two first half points to help the O’Moore County lead by 0-4 to 0-2 at half-time, the game sparked to life in the second period.

As Dublin fought their way back after the restart, Laois were rocked by a yellow card for wing back Mags McEvoy but held firm nonetheless.

With 12 minutes remaining, Laois stormed three points clear as Tracey Lawlor grabbed the game by the scruff of the neck and Dublin were badly in need of inspiration.

It arrived with just over seven minutes remaining when Lyndsey Davey netted a fine goal to put Dublin 1-6 to 0-8 clear at a crucial stage in proceedings.

In a dramatic finish, Laois responded with an equalising point from Gemma O’Connell but Allstar Sinead Ahern, quiet until then, exploded into life with a simply magnificent score with just over four minutes remaining.

Leinster champions Dublin then lost Lindsey Peat to a yellow card but the metropolitans still managed to notch the final score of the game as Ahern landed the insurance point.

Meanwhile, Waterford produced a powerful second half performance against Cavan to book their place in the TG4 All-Ireland Ladies intermediate football final.

Cavan had beaten Waterford well in this year’s Division 3 final but the tables were turned in emphatic fashion as the Déise came strong with a second half scoring burst to clinch their place in the final.

At Dr. Cullen Park in Carlow, midfielder Elaine Power secured the player of the match award after scoring 1-1 and her superb 18th minute goal helped Waterford to lead by 1-3 to 0-2 at half-time.

The early stages of the second half were closely contested and Cavan drew level at 0-10 to 1-7 with 12 minutes of playing time remaining.

Bronagh Sheridan scored the equalising point but it could so easily have been a goal as the Cavan forward spooned her shot over the bar after Waterford goalkeeper Amy Jordan had saved well from Clara Reilly.

That would prove to be Cavan’s last score as Waterford, who had a superb attacking display from reeled off seven unanswered points without reply to clinch the win.

Cavan were also dealt a huge blow when wing-back Renee Murphy was stretchered off in obvious distress following a lengthy stoppage.

Elsewhere, the TG4 All-Ireland Ladies junior football finalists were confirmed as Limerick and Louth emerged victorious in their semi-finals.

Limerick, beaten finalists last year had a stunning 1-9 haul from leading forward Dymphna O’Brien on their way to a 1-12 to 0-8 victory against Wexford.

And two goals from Kate Flood helped Louth to overcome the stiff challenge of Derry on a 3-10 to 2-10 scoreline.



TG4 All-Ireland Ladies senior football championship semi-final
Dublin 1-8 Laois 0-9


Scorers for Dublin: L Davey 1-1, A McGuinness 0-3 (1f), S Ahern 0-2 (1f), E Kelly 0-1, B Finlay 0-1.
Scorers for Laois: A O’Loughlin 0-2, Martha Kirwan 0-2, N Kirwan 0-2 (1f), T Lawlor 0-2 (1f), G O’Connell 0-1,




TG4 All-Ireland Ladies intermediate football championship semi-final:
Waterford 1-14 Cavan 0-10.

Scorers for Waterford: M Ryan 0-5 (1f), E Power 1-1, S Ryan 0-3, G Kenneally 0-2, M McGrath 0-2, A Wall 0-1.
Scorers for Cavan: A Doonan 0-5 (3f), B Sheridan 0-3 (1f), C Reilly 0-2 (1f).




TG4 All-Ireland Ladies junior football championship semi-finals:


Louth 3-10 Derry 2-10.
Wexford 0-8 Limerick 1-12.


Scorers for Louth: K Flood 2-0, S Byrne 1-1, C Page 0-4 A.M. Murphy 0-2, G Lynch 0-1, S Lynch 0-1, M Reid 0-1.
Scorers for Derry: D McMaster 1-1, M McCusker 0-4, K Fleming 1-0, A McCusker 0-3, T Kelly 0-1, N McMullen 0-1.




Scorers for Limerick: D O’Brien 1-9, C Reidy 0-1, E Enright 0-1, J O’Gorman 0-1.
Scorers for Wexford: L Tector 0-4, D McMahon 0-1, M Doyle, L Kent 0-1, T Moloney 0-1.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs