Ladies Gaelic honour All-Ireland winning captains


Ladies Gaelic Football Association to honour
Captains of the last 30 Years

It is 30 years since the first All-Ireland Ladies
Football Final and to mark the occasion, the 30
captains from the victorious teams will be presented
to the crowd at half time during this Sunday’s
final. Amongst those who will be honoured are
Tipperary’s Kitty Savage, captain of the first
All-Ireland winning team in 1974, the nine in
a row Kerry captains including Bridget Leen, Siobhan
Twomey, Annette Flaherty and Kathleen Curran,
Waterford’s Marie Crotty and Geraldine Long, Monaghan’s
Angela Larkin and Maggie Kearins from the mid
90’s teams and the four Mayo captains Diane O’Hora,
Maria Staunton, Christina Heffernan and Helena

Interestingly, all 30 winning All-Ireland teams
had different captains and thankfully, all are
alive and well. This Sunday, both Dublin’s Martina
Farrell and Galway’s Annette Clarke will be looking
to add their names to the history books as Galway
and Dublin bid for All-Ireland glory for the first

Ms Helen O’Rourke, Chief Executive of the Ladies
Gaelic Football Association, believes it is appropriate
to honour the captains of those famous winning
teams at a time when the game is more popular
than ever. “We have come a long way in thirty
years and it is only right and proper that we
acknowledge the contribution of those who have
done so much for Ladies Gaelic Football. On Sunday
we will honour the captains of the last thirty
who are also some of the best-known personalities
in Ladies football.”



Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs