2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Laochra Gael - Lindsay Peat - February 8th on TG4

Laochra Gael – Lindsay Peat

Thursday February 8th 9.30pm on TG4

Lindsay Peat

Lindsay Peat is one of the most versatile sports stars Ireland has ever seen. She reached elite levels in four different sports representing her country in soccer, basketball and rugby all the while playing intercounty football with Dublin. Her footballing success culminated in winning an All-Ireland title with Dublin 2010, the first ever for the county’s women. Having retired from intercounty football in 2014, Peat turned to a new sport, rugby, and saw herself line out for Ireland in multiple Six Nations campaigns as well as the Rugby World Cup in 2017. Peat’s unwavering determination to constantly better herself in a sporting capacity helped mask underlying personal struggles with her sexuality and self-doubt which she eventually overcame and embraced in time.

Director: Miriam Fitzsimons

Participants: Lindsay Peat; Sorcha Furlong; Mark Ingle; Denise Masterson; Valerie Mulcahy; Daragh Ó Conchúir; Ken Peat; Marian Peat; Gemma Peat; Barra Peat-Brogan

Along with Lindsay Peat – this new season’s batch of GAA legends also includes Richie Power one of the most skilful forwards to ever play for Kilkenny, with 8 All-Ireland medals in his collection. Tony Scullion who came from a family that struggled against poverty, but Tony made sure that his dream of playing football with Derry, came through. Tony Griffin at the peak of his powers, made the decision to leave hurling and travel across Canada and raise money for cancer care and also to honour his late father Jerome. Alan Kerins who holds the unique distinction of having won All-Ireland Club medals in both  hurling and football and is the only man to ever do so with different clubs. Pat Critchley was a mainstay of the Laois GAA hurling team of the 1980s. He is often referred to as “Laois’s only hurling All Star”. Ciara Gaynor, a player who won five All-Ireland medals and the player of the year award in 2003, Ciara and her team inspired a generation of young Tipperary girls to follow their dreams. Kevin Hughes along with his team mates, was naturally euphoric after magnificently bringing home the coveted Sam Maguire football trophy in 2003.

Ahead of the new Laochra Gael Series Uachtarán CLG, Larry McCarthy said: “Few could have predicted that when TG4’s excellent Laochra Gael series first aired, that in 2024 we would welcome the 22nd edition of what is an incredibly popular programme. To say that it has stood the test of time is an understatement. While games lie at the heart of the allure, the personal stories of some of the biggest and most popular names in Gaelic sports adds immeasurably to the offering and it is a credit to the programme that so many former players have agreed to provide context to careers that have illuminated Irish sport. This series will see the 200 programme milestone passed. Here’s to the next 200.”

The series is produced by NemetonTV, the independent production company from An Rinn in the Waterford Gaeltacht which has produced much of TG4’s acclaimed sports coverage. The new Laochra Gael season will air on TG4 at 9:30pm on Thursday evenings starting January 25th.

Laochra Gael Series:

Programme 1: Richie Power, 9.30pm, Thursday 25th January

Programme 2: Tony Scullion, 9.30pm, Thursday 1st February

Programme 3: Lindsay Peat, 9.30pm, Thursday 8th February

Programme 4: Tony Griffin, 9.30pm, Thursday 15th February

Programme 5: Alan Kerins, 9.30pm, Thursday 22rd February

Programme 6: Pat Critchley, 9.30pm, Thursday 29th February

Programme 7: Ciara Gaynor, 9.30pm, Thursday 7th March

Programme 8: Kevin Hughes, 9.30pm, Thursday 14th March

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs