Leinster Council Convention 2010

Leinster Council Convention 2010

( P.R.O. Michael Forde.)

Five Leinster players were awarded scholarship grants at the recent Leinster Council Convention, which was held in the Seven Oaks Hotel in Carlow on the 30th of January. Leinster President Sean McMullin presented Anna Moore (Laois), Grainne Fennin (Kildare), Aileen O’Loughlin (Laois), Sarah McManus (Westmeath), and Orlagh Heavey (Offaly), with their Bursaries of €500.

Anna Moore lines out with the St. Josephs club in Laois, and is in her second year at the Marino Institution of Education where she is studying for her B Ed. Degree.

Grainne Fennin wears the number eleven shirt when playing with the Castlemitchell club in Kildare. Grainne is in her third year at the School of Nursing at Dublin City University.

Aileen O’Loughlin plays her club football with Sarfields of Laois, and attends DIT where she is completing her masters in professional design practice.

Sarah McManus hails from Westmeath and plays her club football with St. Lomans, Sarah is into her second year in Dundalk IT, where she is studying health and physical activity.

Orlagh Heavey, was unable to attend on the day, Orlagh attends Limerick University and plays her football with Rhode of Offaly.

Leinster President Sean McMullin presided over a successful and well attended Leinster Council Convention, where all but one out going officer was re-elected, Geraldine Gile was elected development officer, replacing Paddy Brady. Sean McMullin thanked Paddy for his commitment and dedication over the past number of years.

Cathal Friel (secretary), Dominic Leech (registrar), Bill Daly (joint treasurer/registrar), Barry Flynn(Treasurer), Kathleen O’Loughlin ( culture & language ) and Michael Forde (PRO) all gave comprehensive annual reports that were acknowledged by the Leinster delegates.

Leinster administrator Margaret Brennan, who is recovering from a recent operation, was unavailable on the day, Margaret’s report was read out by Sean McMullin, after which, all those present wished Margaret a speedy recovery.

In his Presidential address Sean McMullin congratulated all those involved in ladies gaelic football in Leinster, he went on to say that the real work is done at club and County level and it is the job of Leinster Council’s to adapt to the constantly changing environment and encourage and make life better for all those involved in playing and promoting ladies gaelic football.

Cathal Friel thanked Sean for all his hard work through out the year, Cathal agreed that Leinster council must move with the times, stating that “one tiger has gone and a new tiger is on the way, and all those involved at every level must be prepared to move with the times”.

Before the convention was brought to a close, Leinster Council delegates agreed to donated €1,000 to the Trócaire Haiti appeal, to finish, Sean McMullin thanked all those present for their attendance and contribution, and wish all Leinster players and mentors the very best of luck for 2010.

President: Sean McMullin, Secretary: Cathal Friel, Treasurer: Barry Flynn,

P.R.O. Michael Forde. Development Officer: Geraldine Giles.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs