2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Leinster favourites to retain Interprovincial title

Leinster Favourites To Retain Title

Ladies Football Inter-Provincial Tournament 

Reigning champions Leinster are favourites to retain the Ladies
Inter-provincial title in Mullingar this weekend, but Munster
are gunning for revenge after losing last year’s final. The
round robin section in which the four provinces play against each
other takes place on Saturday at the St. Loman’s grounds,
starting at 12.00, and the finals take place on Sunday.

Munster are backboned by a large Cork contingent including All-Ireland
winning captain Juliette Murphy, Valerie Mulcahy and Elaine Harte
while Waterford All-Star Mary O’ Donnell is also included
on the panel. But they must bid for the title without their dual
players. Munster boss Michael Ryan is hoping his side can go all
the way this weekend. “Leinster will be favourites and if
they can get all of their players together then they will take
some beating,” admitted Waterford native Ryan. “We have
a strong panel but we have been weakened by the loss of the Cork
dual players who are playing camogie. It means we’ll be without
the likes of Angela Walsh, Briege Corkery and Mary O’Connor.”

Leinster, who are managed by former Ballyboden St Enda’s
boss Bill Daly, will be captained by Dublin’s Gemma Fay.
There will be a large Meath contingent on the team with Mary Sheridan,
Irene Munnelly, Gillian Bennett and Geraldine Doherty among the
Royals involved. They lost the league final very narrowly recently
to Cork but has shown they have maintained form with a good championship

Connacht may also have a large say in where the silverware end
up on Sunday evening though with a heavy Mayo and Galway presence
on the panel. They can call upon the likes of Nuala O’Shea,
Aoibheann Daly, Emer Flaherty, Claire Egan, Annette Clarke, Lorna
Joyce and Marcella Heffernan.

Ulster could find it difficult to make an impact though and they
will need the likes of Nadine Doherty, Niamh Kindlon and Yvonne
McMonagle to be in top form.

Ulster last won the title in 2002, while Munster triumphed in
2003 and 2004 Leinster foiled their three-in-a-row bid last year.



Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs