Leinster Minor Championship Semi-Final

Leinster Minor Championship
Semi-Final 2009

At 3pm on Monday next in Pearse Park, Arklow, Wicklow minor Ladies will face Carlow to decide who will go forward to meet either Kilkenny or Offaly in the Leinster Minor ‘C’ final on the 17th of May.
Wicklow probably go into this game as the bookies favourites to advance to the minor final, Wicklow Mentors Cathy Forde and Seamus Ahern have put together a strong squad for this campaign with most clubs in the county represented on the panel.
Wicklow minors last lifted the Leinster title back in 2007 when they beat Offaly (2-14 to 3-8) in a cracker of a game in Ballylinan Co. Laois, Wicklow’s captain on the day Lorna Fuisciardi was presented with the Leinster Trophy by Leinster President Bill Daly, while Wicklow’s Emily Hanney received the player of the final trophy.
In 2008 Wicklow competed in division ‘A’ where they came up against, and lost out to a very strong Meath side ( 4-12 to 0-1), they then went on to play Wexford in the Leinster minor’A’ final, and the Model county proved to be too strong for Wicklow, the Garden county losing 2-3 to 3-7 in Dr Cullen Park, Carlow.
Very little is known about the Carlow side, as both Counties have not crossed swords at Minor level for many years, so the home side can not afford to be complacent on Monday next. This is an ideal opportunity for all Wicklow GAA supporters to come out on Monday next and support Wicklow Ladies Gaelic football stars of the future, referee Michael O’Flaherty will throw the ball in at 3pm sharp.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs