Leitrim back in action but Offaly claim the spoils in Division 3 clash

Lidl NFL Division 3 round 3

Leitrim 2-5
Offaly 6-15

HAVING had the match postponed from last weekend, Offaly took on Leitrim in Mullingar’s astro turf pitch in what was a round 3 re-fixture in Division 3 of the Lidl Ladies NFL. 

The rain eased off as throw-in approached, which made for a tricky mix of fast and slippy ball.

Offaly showed their dominance from the very start, the 1st score coming from the excellent Emma Maher, she played the ball into Mairead Daly, who popped it to Maebh Coleman, who in turn flicked it back to Daly and she finished it in the back of the net.

Alison McKeon opened Leitrim’s account with a point and from the kick-out Offaly conceded a goalto Leitrim’s Aisling Quinn.

M. Coleman was in for Offaly’s second goal and Aoife Norris kicked the last 3 points of the half to leave it Offaly 2-5 Letrim 1-3 at half time.

Overall, Offaly were well on top, dominating the Leitrim kick-outs and with Amy Gavin Mangan, Katie Keogh and Emma Maher contributing significantly.

Mairead Daly opened the scoring in the 2nd half, but this was quickly cancelled out, with 1-2 coming unanswered from Leitrim. It was game on, at this point, where the sides were separated by the minimum score.

Offaly then returned the compliment by scoring 3-2 without reply, with the goals coming through Amy G. Mangan and Ellie McEvoy. Offaly took over total control from this point forward, with Ellie McEvoy bagging her second goal.

The game finished Offaly 6-15 to Letrim 2-5.

The team lined out as; 1.Lauren Dunne, 2. Annie Kehoe, 3 Sarah Cummins, 4. Immelda Flemming, 5. Sarah Bracken, 6. Emma Maher 7. Katie Keogh, 8. Aoife Norris, 9. Amy Gavin Mangan, 10. Mairaed Daly (Captain) 11. Katie Killeen, 12. Sarah Keogh, 13 Maebh Coleman , 14. Ellie McEvoy,  15. Marie Byrne. 

Leitrim; 1. Ciara McLoughlin, 2. Sarah Quinn, 3 Eimhin Quinn, 4. Patricia Forde, 5. Aine Heslin 6. Clare Owens 7. Melissa Hewitt, 8. Aisling Quinn, 9. Laura O’Dowd, 10. Michelle Heslin, 11. Emma Quinn, 12. Carla LeGuen, 13 Sorcha Flanagan, 14. Caoimhe Quinn, 15. Alison McKeon.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs