Leitrim and Roscommon Teams Named for TG4 Clash

Leitrim and Roscommon will meet in the TG4 Connacht Intermediate Play Off match this Sunday in Charlestown at 3:30pm. The winner of this crunch play off match will advance to meet Sligo in the TG4 Connacht Intermediate Football Championship.

6 July 2015; Pictured at the launch of the TG4 Ladies All Intermediate Ireland Football Championship are Jenny Higgins, Roscommon, left, and Sarah McLoughlin, Leitrim. The championship, which begins with the first matches on July 25th will culminate with the TG4 All Ireland Finals in Croke Park on September 27th. Cork will hope to win tenth third All Ireland title in 11 years but will face the highest level of competition in years. All supporters of the sport are being asked to support the championship, to Be the Difference, Be There #BetheDiff. Croke Park, Dublin. Picture credit: Piaras Ó Mídheach / SPORTSFILE *** NO REPRODUCTION FEE ***

Both sides have been named ahead of this vital clash for two teams that have realistic hopes of both Connacht and All Ireland Glory.

The Roscommon side will include the powerful midfield combination of Joanne Cregg and captain, Jenny Higgins. Shauna Connell will line out at the edge of the square from where she will be expected to carry the Roscommon scoring threat.

Leitrim are an experienced unit and will want to make up for their underwhelming Lidl NFL campaign. As always all eyes will be on their captain and scoring star, Áine Tighe at the full forward spot but she will be given great assistance, especially from the likes of Carla LeGuen.

Sunday, May 15th

TG4 Connacht Intermediate Championship (Play Off)

Leitrim v Roscommon

Fr. O’Hara Park, Charlestown (3:30pm)


  1. Rachael Timothy (St. Faithleachs) 2. Joan Geoghegan 3. Caroline Gunning (Oran) 4. Christina Beirne (Shannon Gaels)  5. Niamh Feeney (St. Mary’s Tulsk) 6. Sinead Kenny (St. Croans) 7. Amanda McLoone (St. Faithleachs) 8. Joanne Cregg (M. Glavey’s) 9. Jenny Higgins (Western Gaels) 10. Siobhan Tully (Kilbride) 11. Rachel Fitzmaurice (St. Ciaran’s) 12. Laura Flemming (St. Ciaran’s) 13. Martina Freyne (Western Gaels) 14. Shauna Connell (Clann na Gael) 15. Jenny Downey (P. Pearses)


  1. Michelle Monaghan (St. Francis) 2. Claire Beirne (Mohill) 3. Mary Farrell (Dromahair) 4. Claire Owens (St. Joseph’s) 5. Aine Heslin (St. Joseph’s) 6. Lorraine Brennan (Cloone) 7. Melissa Hewitt (Glencar Manorhamilton) 8. Anna Conlon (Dromahair) 9. Deirdre Ward (Mohill) 10. Michelle Heslin (St. Joseph’s) 11. Bronagh Rooney (Glencar Manorhamilton) 12. Emma Guckian (St. Mary’s) 13. Carla LeGuen (Aughawillan) 14. Áine Tighe (Kiltubrid) 15. Michelle Guckian (St. Mary’s)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs