Limerick put 6 Past Tipperary

MLGFA Limerick v Tipperary-12


Limerick hosted Tipperary in Claughaun in Round 2 of the Munster Intermediate championship, needing a win following their first round defeat to champions, Waterford.

The treaty girls set about their task with a win clearly on their minds. The opening 17 minutes were a whirl wind of precision and endeavour. At the end of the first quarter Limerick had raised the green flag on six occasions putting the game beyond Tipperary’s reach at that early stage. Claire O’Riordan and Dympna O’Brien with a brace apiece and one each from Megan Kelleher and Captain Marie Curtin saw the game over as a contest at that early stage. The display of forward power was a joy to watch, as they weaved a mesmerizing, incisive pattern of play which left the inexperienced Tipperary backs at sixes and sevens.

Understandably, but disappointingly this level of performance was not maintained for the remainder of the game. The early introduction of substitutes, the dead heat of an afternoon game and the fact that the job had been finished so clinically and so quickly saw the remainder of the game played at less than championship pace. This did not stop Kristina Hennessy from saving a penalty along with other excellent interventions throughout the game.

There is a lot of work to be done before July 12th for another joust with Waterford but on the evidence of the first two outings by this young team it is an occasion that should not be feared.

Scorers: Claire O’Riordan 2-2, Dympna O’Brien 2-2, Marie Curtin 1-2, Marie Kelleher 1-1, Michelle Norris 0-2 Megan O’Shea 0-1, Kathryn Fahy 0-1, Niamh Richardson 0-1, Stephanie Carroll


Limerick Panel:  Kristina Hennessy (Monagea) , Alva Neary (Old Mill), Siobhan Moloney (Oola), Janet Garvey (Fr Casey’s), Vicky McMahon (St Ailbe’s), Emma McGuire (St Ailbe’s), Aoife Meaney (Sliabh na mBan),  Kathryn Fahy (Monaleen), Niamh Richardson (Murroe Boher), Michelle Norris (Monaleen),  Megan Kelleher (Knockainey ), Caroline Hickey (St Ailbe’s ), Lisa Harnett (Fr Casey’s ), Marie Curtin (Mungret/St Paul’s)  Captain,  Claire O’Riordan (Monagea), Clodagh Kirby (Knockainey), Maeve Higgins (St Patrick’s), Katie Fitzgerald (Gerald Griffins), Janet O’Carrell (Mungret/St Paul’s), Niamh McCarthy (Drom/Broadford), Louise Ryan (St Brigids), Dympna O’Brien (Gerald Griffins), Megan O’Shea (St Brigids), Megan O’Mara (Monaleen), Stephanie Carroll (St Ailbes), Mai Kennelly (Old Mill), Laura Lyons (St Ailbes), Claire Coughlan (Mungret/St Paul’s), Kate McSweeney (Adare) and Leanne Garvey (Fr Casey’s).

Team Manager: Andrew Meaney. Selectors: DJ Collins and Mike Kennedy. Physio: Clodagh Toomey.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs