2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Loreto Fermoy move onto semi-final

Munster Schools Senior ‘A’ Ladies Football

Loreto Fermoy move onto semi-final

Loreto Fermoy 5-11 Killorglin 3-7


Loreto Fermoy eased their way to the semi final of the Munster
Schools Senior ‘A’ Championship with a victory over Killorglin at
Kanturk on Wednesday last on a very heavy pitch. Fermoy were in
control of this game all through from once Orla Cotter got the opening
point within the first minute to Katie Hannon’s goal in the fifty-sixth
minute to clinch victory. Loreto driven on by Eleanor Ahern at centre
back, Orla Cotter and Carley Shanahan at mid-field and with Grace
Kearney and Katie Sheehan in excellent form upfront Fermoy held
out for a comfortable victory. Fermoy led by 3-7 to 2-3 at half
time, the goals coming from Grace Kearney (2) and Kate Feeney. Though
Killorglin had their moments during the half with some great scores.

Fermoy were quickly off the mark in the second half with points
from Grace Kearney and Katie Sheehan (2) and when Kearney added
her third goal midways through the half Fermoy were leading by 4-10
to 2-5.

Killorglin pressed forward and were denied a certain goal by Aisling
Hartnett the Loreto net-minder when she saved from point-blank.
And to add to Killorglan’s misery, the same player saved a penalty
in the twentieth minute when she dived full length to put the ball
out round the post. Eventually Killorglan were awarded with a goal
to give them hope but this was short lived as Katie Hannon finished
a great move to seal the game for Fermoy. Aisling Hartnett was excellent
in goals, Grace Kearney’s hat-trick of goals and Katie Sheehan’s
seven points (five from play) were vital to the 2006 Senior ‘B’
All Ireland Champions progress in this competition. This sets up
an eagerly awaited semi final meeting with St. Mary’s of Mallow.

Fermoy Scores:

Grace Kearney 3-2, Katie Sheehan 0-7 (0-2 from frees), Katie Hannon
(1-1), Kate Feeney (1-0), Orla Cotter (0-1).


Aisling Hartnett, Jessica Riordan, Katie O’Flynn, Marie O’Regan,
Aisling Hutchings, Eleanor Ahern, Michelle Hartnett, Carley Shanahan
(captain), Orla Cotter, Jenny Sheehan, Katie Sheehan, Grace Kearney,
Emma O’Hagan, Katie Hannon, Kate Feeney.

Subs: Sinead Walsh for O’Hagan (50th minute), Mairead Rice for O’Regan
(52nd minute)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs