Louth Elect New Chairperson

A record attendance of 67 delegates elected a new Chairman as Dermot Woods held off the strong challenge of former Chairman Pat Carr (Geraldines) by 35  votes to 32.


The result sees the Malachi’s clubman returning to the position for a third term. Having first being elected to the position in 1997, he oversaw the county’s first ever All-Ireland success a year later when the Cathy Reynolds captained team beat Roscommon in a memorable Junior  final in Croke Park.

In 1999 Louth managed by Dermot Agnew  took the Intermediate title by beating Cork, Kerry and then Wexford in the final.

In his last season, 2001 Louth were in League Div 1 but most of their fixtures were wiped due to the foot and mouth crisis, He stepped down at the end of the “01 season with John Duffy (St.Patrick’s) taking his place

2007 saw Woods return as County Chair with the County’s fortune at a low ebb, two years later, Louth were on the up again as they won the Leinster Junior C/Ship.

Just 12 months later, in 2010 again with Dermot Agnew in charge, Louth were back in the All-Ireland final where despite turning in a fine display, they went down to Limerick.

At the end of the 2010 season he stood down for a second term, but would continue in the position of P.R.O. for the following three seasons

There is also a new face at the top table  as well known Nh,Fionbarra man Liam O’Neill takes over the role of Secretary. 

Liam is a well known referee in the county,

Another newcomer is John Boyle who is the new development officer

John O’Leary the former Dublin netminder was confirmed as County manager where he will be assisted by Feargal McNally (St.Fechins) Bridget Russell (GlenEmetts),Martina Nolan (St.Fechins) and ex Cooley and Louth star Roisin Hanlon. Roisin scored two of the Louth goals in the 1998 final and is currently a member of the Geraldines team that reached the 2016 Senior Championshiop final, while Sonia Gernon and Edel Woods will be in charge of the minor team. Chris Doyle (Clans) will again take charge of the U/16s with Michelle Lowth (Stabanonn) Nicole Sheerin (Roche) Patricia Duffy (St.Fechins) Lisa Duffy (Na Pairsaigh)  and John Carr (Geraldines) as his assistants


Chair, Dermot Woods (Nh.Malachi)

Sect, Liam O’Neill (Nh. Fionbarra)

Registrar- Ann Fedigan (Hunterstown)

Child Protection Officer’s, Edel Woods and Sonia Gernon (Na Pairsaigh)

Treasurer  Johanne Fedigan (Hunterstown)

Ass.Treasurer, Ann Meade (Mattock)

Leinster and Central Council Delegate, Pat Carr (Geraldines)


Development Officer- John Boyle (Geraldines)


Fixture Commitee- To be elected at first Co.Board Meeting

P.R.O.    To be Confirmed

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs