Marion Keane Memorial Tournament Finals

Keane Memorial Tournament Finals

The biting cold breeze in Cooraclare on Sunday may
have chilled the spectators to their very marrowbones
but the football fare on show certainly was heart-warming
and the skill and enthusiasm of the participating
players was roundly applauded by all in attendance.

Proceedings got underway at 3.30pm with the B Final.
In a very competitive affair, both sides retiring
at the interval at 1 – 3 apiece, Team C ,captained
by Eimear O’Connor gradually got the upper-hand
over Team F (Sara Bohannon captain) to run out winners
on a 4 – 7 to 1 – 5 score-line.

Referee for this game was Patricia Ryan.

Following the B Final there was a parade of all
teams who participated in the competition. Led by
the Tulla Pipe Band this was a very colourful spectacle.
Following the parade all stood to attention for
Amhrán na bhFiann as a prelude to the A-Final.

In this game teams captained by Niamh O’Connell
(Team H) and Catherine Danagher (Team E) did battle
with each other. O’Connell’s team, for whom the
irrepressible Louise Woods was in sparkling form,
raced into an early lead. Danagher’s side was guilty
of some poor shooting during this period and were
also thwarted by the excellence of goalkeeper Tiana
Flanagan. At the break O’Connell’s girls led on
a 3 – 5 to 0 – 1 score-line. However they were wind
assisted so an interesting second half lay ahead.

As expected Catherine Danagher’s side attacked ferociously
from the off in the second period and were rewarded
with some good scores. The gap began to narrow but
Niamh O’Connell’s side were not to be overtaken
and they seemed to find an extra gear when needed.
Final score 6 – 6 to 3 – 4 in the Coolmeen girls
team’s favour. Referee was Johnny Hayes Following
both games medals and trophies were presented to
all participating teams and their winning captains
by Dan and Carmel Keane, parents of Marion Keane
in who’s honour the tournament was held.

Trophies to the participating team managers and
referees were presented by Peter Marshall, the main
sponsor of the tournament. In his address to all
in attendance Mr. James Lafferty, Chairman of Clare
Ladies Football, paid tribute to all participants
and to Clarecastle and Cooraclare GAA Clubs who
gave freely of their grounds and facilities during
the competition.

He also thanked everybody for the excess of €1,300
raised for cancer research during the competition.
Arising from this tournament a County U – 14 provisional
panel has now been put in place and the squad will
have their first competitive outing on Sunday next
when they will line out against reigning All Ireland
Féile Champions, The Banner Ladies Ennis in the
Banner Grounds.

All players are requested to be in attendance at
9.15am sharp. End.

Dr. Paul McKenna, PRO Clare Ladies Football Board.
087 – 1376334

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs