Match report Clare .v. Limerick, Munster Junior Championship

Match report Clare .v. Limerick, Munster Junior Championship

Clare 4 – 13 Limerick 2 – 12



This was a cracking match from start to finish.
Played at a real championship pace both teams gave their all for
their respective counties but the overall superior strength and
teamwork of the Clare girls was the deciding factor on the night. 

In a game played in perfect conditions in Cooraclare Limerick
had the better of the opening exchanges and raced into an early
three point lead with super corner forward Dymphna O’Brien causing
all sorts of problems for the Clare defence. Indeed the Limerick
sharpshooter was to end the game with a personal tally of a goal
and nine points. Clare looked in trouble in these early stages
and it took a great run from midfield by Grace Lynch to get straight
through on goal only to be fouled in the square when shooting,
to allow Louise Henchy to confidently slot the resulting penalty
to the roof of the net to give Clare an equaliser they scarcely

Limericks reply was ever so swift when Elizabeth Doran came in
on the end of a passing movement to score an unstoppable goal
in the tenth minute. When Doran’s score was quickly followed by
an O’Brien point one felt that Limerick would go on to dominate
proceedings. Despite continued possession Limerick were held scoreless
for the next seven minutes and when Myra Daly got on the end of
an Áine Kelly rebound in the eighteenth minute and crashed
the ball to the net Clare were again on level terms – a position
they scarcely deserved at this point in time. The Banner ladies
took full advantage of their position however and completely dominated
affairs until the half time whistle. In this ten minute period
Clare had points from Niamh Keane,, Eithne Morrissey and Majella
Griffin but what really swung the game in their favour was a brace
of goals in the twenty fourth and thirtieth minutes by their corner-forward
dynamo Áine Kelly. Thus Clare retired at the interval with
a handsome 4 – 4 to 1 – 5 lead.

From the restart Clare continued to dominate affairs and substitute
Tammy Hehir opened their account with a well taken point on thirty
two minutes. Over the next fifteen minutes the mercurial Majella
Griffin kicked seven points for Clare and Limericks sole reply
was a thirty fourth minute score from Clodagh Reidy. Thus after
forty five minutes the score read Clare 4 – 12 to Limericks 1
– 6 and a major defeat of the Treaty Stone girls seemed in prospect.
Great credit to Limerick that they never gave up on the game and
as Clare began to tire over the final quarter Limericks star performer,
Dymphna O’Brien scored an incredible goal and six points. Clare
had the final say however when the ever dependable Eithne Morrissey
popped up to score the final point of the game with a long range
injury time effort.

In the end it was a well deserved and comprehensive victory for
the Banner side and all but guarantees them a Munster final spot
barring a major upset against Waterford this coming Saturday.
Clare will still worry however about their final quarter lapse
of concentration and shape and this will give Deirdre Murphy plenty
to think about. Overall however this was a very good Clare performance.
Keeper Emma O’Driscoll could do very little about the two goals
conceded and outside her there were very good defensive performances
by Lorraine Kelly, Sinéad Eustace, Eithne Morrissey and
Grace Lynch. Louise Henchy had an excellent evening at midfield
while up front Majella Griffin and Áine Kelly were outstanding.
Niamh Keane also had a very good game as did Tammy Hehir when
introduced for the injured Marie Considine.

All in all then a very satisfactory evening for Deirdre Murphy
and her team. This squad of players seem to be improving with
each game played so hopefully there is further progress to come.
Waterford will be their next opponents at a neutral venue on Saturday
and hopefully a victory will be achieved over the Déise
ladies to secure a Munster final place.

Clare: Emma O’Driscoll, Carmel Considine, Lorraine Kelly, Monica
Lillis, Sinéad Eustace, Eithne Morrissey, Sinéad
Kelly, Louise Henchy, Grace Lynch, Niamh Keane, Majella Griffin,
Marie Considine, Áine Kelly, Majella Lillis, Myra Daly.

Subs: Tammy Hehir for Marie Considine (22 min), Sonia Maher for
Majella Lillis (49 min), Diane Kelly for Myra Daly (49 min) and
Cliona Talty for Monica Lillis (50 min).

Scorers: Áine Kelly 2 – 2, Majella Griffin 0 – 7, Louise
Henchy & Myra Daly 1 – 0 each, Eithne Morrissey 0 – 2, Tammy
Hehir & Niamh Keane 0 – 1 each.

Referee : Keith Delahunty (Tipperary).




Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs