Match Report Dublin V Galway



This match had all the ingredients of another cracker and that was exactly what both teams served up. Dublin started well flying out of the traps with points from Amy McGuiness and a free from Anne-Marie Murphy before Dublin were awarded a penalty after an inspirational forward run by team Captain Denise Masterson.Anne-Marie Murphy stepped up and slotted home the penalty to extend the Dublin lead. Galway struggled to come to terms with the Dublin attack as the hard running Dublin forwards were linking up well resulting in a superb move which ended in McGuiness smashing the ball to the back of the Galway net to put The Dubs in a commanding lead. But in fairness to this experienced Galway side they never panicked and long ball down field resulted in Anne Gilmore fisting to the net to open Galway’s account. Dublin responded with a Niamh Hurley point which was answered by a point a Gilmore point for Galway before Dublin’s Sinead Ahearn opened her account with a point which was matched by one from Galway’s Rebecca McPhilbin to leave the Half time score 2-5 to 1-2 in the Dubs Favor.
Dublin started the second half well with another Ahearn point before Galway responded with 3 points from Gilmore, Annette Clarke and Kara Mullins to close the gap. With the aid of the breeze and the words of their manager ringing in their ears Galway began to show their class but Dublin once again rallied and scored two points from the boot of Sinead Ahearne. Galway broke down field to score another goal to close the gap to just one point. Dublin were now under fierce pressure and when Claire Heir kicked a point for Galway in injury time it looked like the Dublin’s hearts were to be broken. But the Dublin girls to their credit refused to give up and drove up field inspired by Captain Masterson and midfielder McEvoy and got the ball in to Lyndsey Davey who evaded the Galway defence held her nerve and kicked a majestic point to draw the game deep into injury time. The referee blew the final whistle shortly after to end a hugely enjoyable contest which both camps can take a lot of positives from as the look forward to the latter stages of their campaign.

Dublin Team:Cliondha O’Connor,Patricia Gordon,Thressa McConnell,Maria Kavanagh,Orla Colreavy,Denise Masterson (Capt),Siobhan McGrath,Niamh McEvoy,Amy McGuinnes,Mary Nevin,Anne-Marie Murphy,Ciara Murphy,Lyndsey Davey,Sinead Ahearn,Niamh Hurley
Scorers: Amy McGuinnes (1-2) Sinead Ahearn (0-4) Anne-Marie Murphy (1-1)
Lyndsey Davey and Niamh Hurley (0-1)each

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs