2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Mayo 0-13 Wexford 0-10

Mayo 0-13
Wexford 0-10

Last years national league champions Mayo got their title defence back on track with a hard earned three point victory over Wexford in Division One (A) of the Suzuki National Ladies Football League in Bellefield ,Enniscorthy on Sunday afternoon last .
In a match that pitted two beaten all Ireland finalists from 2007 up against each other it was beaten senior finalists Mayo who were victorious and they had a sparkling eight minute spell leading up to half time to thank as Mayo out scored Wexford by 0-6 to zero in this spell .
Mayo began brightest in the game and had two points on the board after four minutes .Lisa Cafferty and Fiona McHale both kicking good points into the strong breeze.
Wexford promoted from division two last season struck back well and a pointed free from Tara Maloney and a great point from Deirdre Fox had Wexford level at two points each.
Aoife Herbert was heavily involved in the build up to the next score and her final pass set up Lisa Cafferty for Mayo’s third point.
Wexford began to grow into the game more and two points on the bounce had the model county ladies in front .Natasha Martin blasted a shot over from a tight angle before Deirdre Fox landed a great point after a great solo up the middle of the park .
That score put Wexford in front but it was to be their last score of the opening half as Mayo began to show signs of the team that delivered glory in 2007 .Three quick fire points courtesy of Lisa Cafferty, Aoife Herbert and Fiona McHale had the westerners gaining complete control with their dominance in mid field being clinical. The points continued to flow and before half time the score line read 0-9 to 0-4 in Mayo’s favour ,with the remaining three Mayo scores in the first half coming from Lisa Cafferty, Fiona McHale and Patricia Coyle who all kicked nice points.
Tara Maloney coolly pointed on the run five minutes into the second half but Mayo again struck back with two white flag raisers one each from Fiona McHale and Aoife Herbert.
It was Tara Maloney who again responded for Wexford and the longer the half went on the more the Shelmeliars forward stamped her picture over the scoring charts .
Deirdre Doherty made the gap six points again when she pointed eleven minutes into the second half ,before Tara Maloney and Fiona McHale swapped points to leave Mayo in front 0-13 to 0-7 with twelve minutes remaining.
Wexford upped their work rate and began to dominate in key areas and the scores followed but unfortunately for the home side the vital goal they need to really shake up Mayo never arrived although Michelle O’Neill and Isobelle Naughter did go close on two occasions.
Tara Maloney gave an exhibition of free taking and calmly landed three good frees to close the gap to three points but it was not enough to gain Wexford a first victory of the Suzuki National league division 1 A .
Wexford keeper Mary Rose Kelly an all star from 2007 made a super save in the first half and her full back line worked well in front of her all day ,certainly it was a much improved Wexford performance from their opening round defeat to Armagh but vital missed goal chances in both halves cost Wexford dearly in the end .
Deirdre Devine ,Michelle Kelly, Claire O’Hara , Trisha Moran , Aine McLean , Nicola Hart , Melissa Coleman , Jackie Moran , Fiona McHale (0-5) , Deirdre Doherty (0-1) , Aishling McHale ,Aoife Herbert (0-2),Lisa Cafferty (0-4 (0-2 frees)) , Patricia Coyle (0-1) ,Clodagh Cummerskey .subs Eilish O’Malley for A. McHale ,Billy Joe McGuire for Melissa Coleman .
Mary Rose Kelly ,Maeve Quill , Leona Tector , Aoife Waters , Lorna Doyle , Mag Kelly , Ciara Cosgrave , Shelly Doyle , Fiona Rochford , Sharon Kehoe , Deirdre Fox (0-2) , Tara Maloney (0-7(0-5 frees)) ,Georgina Moore , Claire Finn ,Natasha Martin (0-1) .subs Michelle O’Neill for Natasha Martin ,Julie Kelly for Kelly, Jane Mythen for Rochford , Mary O’Neill for L.Doyle , Deirdre McMahon for Michelle O’Neill (inj),Isobelle Naughter for Finn , Fiona Cullen for Shelly Doyle .
Referee Tony Lennon Dublin .

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs