Mayo retain their title, Donegal win Junior

Mayo win in a thrilling finale
Mayo 1-04 Dublin 0-05

Mayo retained their All-Ireland Senior Ladies’ Football title
thanks to a late goal from Diane O’Hora at Croke Park. Two
minutes from full-time the champions trailed final first-timers
Dublin by a point. However, player of the match O’Hora latched
onto a high ball which had been spilled by Dublin goalkeeper
Cliona O’Connor to volley Mayo into a 1-04 to 0-05 lead they
didn’t relinquish.

As the low scoreline suggests, the game was a poor spectacle,
however the defences for both sides were impressive with no
quarter being asked or given.

DUBLIN: C O’Connor; S Farrelly, L Keegan, M Kavanagh;
N Hurley, M Farrell Cpt, O Colreavy; A McNally (0-1), N McEvoy;
E Murphy, G Fay (0-1), B Finlay; M Nevin (0-1), L Kelly, K
Hopkins (0-1). Subs: E Kelly for Murphy (28 mins), A McCormack
for Hopkins (43 mins), S Aherne (0-1) for Finlay (45)

MAYO: D Horan; N O Shea, H Lohan Cpt, S McGing; MT
Garvey, Y Byrne, C O’Hara; C Egan, J Moran; E Mullins (0-1),
C Staunton, M McGing (0-1); D O’Hora (1-2), M Heffernan, C
Heffernan. Subs: A Gallagher for Moran (39 mins)

Donegal 3-14 0-12 Kildare

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs