Meath Minors Battle Past Roscommon



Meath minors qualified for the All Ireland Minor B Final after a tough game against Roscommon. Meath had claimed their first ever All Ireland B title last year against the same opposition.

Meath did not have it all their own way and the Roscommon team made them fight hard. Roscommon opened the scoring with a point, Meath had a number of missed chances before a point from Aoibhin Cleary levelled the game.


Roscommon surged forward on a number of occasions putting pressure on the Meath backs. An early injury to Emma Cassidy introduced Laura Quinn to the backs.  A  Meath player was taken down in front of the goal and a penalty was dispatched to the net by Lauryn Grier.

Roscommon responded with a well taken goal themselves courtesy of Sinead Glennon. Meath put over points from Anna Branagan, Niamh Cassidy and Cleary but Roscommon hit the net again.


Meath knew they were in a game. Clever play from Cleary, Grier and Ailbhe Leahy along with good work from Niamh Cassidy, Katie Newe, Orlagh Lally and Lauren Kearney led to a half time score of Meath 1 – 07 – Roscommon 2 – 02


The 2nd half resumed with the introduction of Abbie Timmons for Martha Reidy. From the throw in Timmons gathered the ball and pointed for the Royals. The game was up and down the field. Timmons delivered a pass to Grier who hit the back of the net. Roscommon added another 5 points to their tally while Meath raised the green flag twice more. Sara Lynch on the end of a well placed pass and Paula Dorian from a clever hand pass! Another four points for Meath from Cleary, Timmons, Grier and Leahy led to the full time whistle. While it might look as Meath had it easy in this game that would be far from the truth. Roscommon to their credit never gave up on their task.

Meath now march on to their second All Ireland B Final in two years. The opposition there will be Clare who were too good for Monaghan. This is scheduled for August 5th at a venue TBC.


Meath – Judy Bobbett, Lauren Kearney, Orlagh Lally, Martha Reidy, Emma Cassidy, Katie Newe, Laoise McDermott, Anna Branagan (0-1), Rachel Troy, Tara Fay, Lauryn Grier (2-1 – 1-0 penalty, one free), Niamh Cassidy (0-1); Aoibhin Cleary (0-5), Sarah Lynch (1-0), Ailbhe Leahy (0-1). Subs – Laura Quinn for E Cassidy 4 mins, Abbie Timmons (0-2) for Reidy half-time, Caroline Quinn for Lynch 42m, Paula Dorian (1-0) for Fay 52m.

Roscommon – Marie Kelly; Meabh Tiernan, Shannon Dowd, Aoife McLoughlin; Amy Curley, Roisin Wynne, Shauna Fleming; Sinead Glennon (2-1), Sarah Scally (0-1); Louise Brady (0-3 one free), Sinead Farrell, Mikaela McHugh; Lauren Curran, Niamh Shanagher (0-1), Ciara Corcoran (0-1 free). Subs – Alanna Hanmore for Curran half-time, Amy Malone for Corcoran 34 mins, Sarah Hoare for Dowd 46m, Shannon Caulfield for Glennon 48m, Amy Quinn for McLoughlin 58m.

Minor All Ireland B Semi Final

Meath v Roscommon

Coralstown GAA Club – Kinnegad

Saturday July 15th

Half time: Meath 1 – 07 – Roscommon 2 – 02

Full time: Meath 4 – 11 – Roscommon 2 – 07

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs