Meath News and Notes 27.01.2016

Meath were fortunate enough to have six players representing Meath and their respective schools and clubs on the 2016 Leinster PPS Interprovincial team at the annual competition in Kinnegad. While Munster came away with top honours, Leinster lost out on a place in the Cup Final on penalties to Connacht and faced Ulster in the Shield Final, a game they won on a 2-04 to 0-02 scoreline. Meath representatives on the 25-player panel were;

Meath representatives on the Leinster PPS Interprovincials team from L to R; Kelsey Nesbitt, Hannah Heskin, Aoibhín Cleary, Marion Farrelly, Niamh Cassidy and Vikki Wall

Kelsey Nesbitt (Loreto Navan and Simonstown)

Hannah Heskin (Loreto, Navan and Navan O’Mahonys)

Aoibhín Cleary (Ashbourne CS and Donaghmore Ashbourne)

Niamh Cassidy (Loreto, Navan and Simonstown)

Marion Farrelly (Eureka, Kells and St. Michaels)

Vikki Wall (St. Peter’s Dunboyne and Dunboyne LGFC)

All with the exception of Hannah are part of Eamon Murray’s County Minor squad which will get their Leinster Championship campaign underway on February 6th with a home fixture against Wicklow. Time and Venue TBC.

(Pic attached: Courtesy of Tom Wall)


Sunday 31st sees the newly sponsored Lidl National Football Leagues get underway. Meath face Sligo in their opening fixture in Drumree with the throw in time of 2pm. Fuller preview on the game to follow after Wednesday evening’s EGM.


Sunday 31st January: Lidl National Football League Division Two, Round One, Meath v Sligo, Drumree at 2.00.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs