Micheál Naughton voted in as President-elect of the Ladies Gaelic Football Association

MICHEÁL Naughton is the new President-elect of the Ladies Gaelic Football Association.


The Sligo native, representing Donegal and Ulster, was voted in by delegates attending LGFA Congress at Galway’s Lough Rea Hotel on Saturday.


Naughton will officially take over the reins from Marie Hickey at 2021 Annual Congress, which has been confirmed for Antrim.


No second vote was necessary as Naughton gained 70 votes on the first count, a very strong showing, followed by Liam McDonagh on 29, and Dominic Leech on 16.


A successful businessman, and working in the hotel industry, Naughton will become the 13th different President of the LGFA since its inception in 1974, when he officially assumes office next year.


Laois native Marie Hickey will complete her second three-year stint before handing over the reins to Naughton at 2021 Congress.


Westmeath’s Geraldine Giles also served for two terms as President from 2003-2009, while Wexford’s Pat Quill was President of the LGFA for three terms (1985-1988, 2009-2012 and 2012-2015).


Hailing from West Sligo, but based in Donegal for over 22 years, Micheál Naughton is a former Donegal and Ulster Council Chairperson who also managed the Donegal Ladies Senior Football team.


Affiliated to the Four Masters club, Naughton guided Donegal to the 2010 TG4 All-Ireland Intermediate crown during her first stint in charge, before returning to preside over a 2016 Lidl National League Division 2 title win.


Naughton was the popular choice among the 115 delegates who voted, gaining over 60 per cent of the vote, as Galway hosted Annual Congress for the first time since 2004.



Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs