Minor B All Ireland Shield Final

Minor B All Ireland Shield Final
Waterford 2-15 Sligo 1-10

Waterford had a comprehensive win over Sligo in the Minor B shield All Ireland Final played in Ballinasloe on Saturday last. Playing against the wind Sligo had the better start with points from the midfielder Elise Codd and wing forward Laura Gillespie in the opening minutes of the game. Waterford reduced the deficit on 5 minutes with a Sinead Ryan point. An Ann Dunphy point levelled the score on 7 minutes. Points from Derbhala Hayes, and Sinead Ryan (3,1f) saw Waterford edge into a three point lead. A point from Sligo’s captain Aine Gormely saw the gap narrowed further. Watherford’s Dearbhala Hayes was sin binned on 20 minutes for a high tackle. Fiona Morrissey replaced Clodagh Walsh with Maria Delahunty moving into the half forward line. Waterford’s Ciara Kearney made a fine save from Sligo’s Lisa Casey when she pushed the ball over the bar for a point.
Waterford upped their work rate and Sligo were finding it very difficult to handle the fast pace of the game. Points from Ryan (2, 1f), Deirdre Fahy (0-1) and Maria Delahunt (1f) was rounded off in the 2nd minute of injury time with a splendid goal from Fahy. The move started in the backs with Clare Gleeson breaking up a Sligo attack, Ann Dunphy carried the ball to the forwards where Ryan and Delahunty linked with Fahy, who finished the move clinically. The score at half time read Waterford 1-10 Sligo 0-5.
Waterford started the second half in determined mood, but the forwards were finding it difficult to find the range into a strong wind. Sligo on the other hand took full advantage of the wind moving the ball directly to their forwards. The Waterford backs dealt effectively with the Sligo attacks with all of the backs producing outstanding displays individually and collectively. Aileen Wall was introduced into the action 10 minutes into the second half for Hayes. The status quo was maintained in the opening quarter with both sides scoring 3 points (Delahunty, Fahy and Ryan). The sin binning of Olivia Hennebry on 18 minutes galvanised the Waterford team into action. Katie Hannon scored Waterford’s second goal on 20 minutes in a move that involved Ryan and Delahunty. Sinead Ryan and Fiona Morrissey completed the Waterford scoring to give Waterford a deserved victory by 2-15 to 1-10.
Lisa Tobin accepted the cup on behalf of her team and thanked the team management of Dave Gleeson, Nickey Sheehan, Mary Walsh and John Frewen, Waterford Team sponsor Saltan Properties.
Waterford Panel: C Kearney, K Rockett, L Hogan, K Dwane, K McGrath, C Gleeson, E Power, M Delahunty, A Dunphy, D Fahy, S Ryan, D Hayes, C Walsh, K Hannon, O Hennebry, F Morrissey for C Walsh, A Wall for Hayes, L Tobin for Henebry, R Tobin for K McGrath, S Power for Hannon, K Sheehan, L Walsh, N Power, R Walsh, R NicDhonnaha, T Kiely, S O’Brien, S Murray, A Hannon

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs