MMI Interprovincial Squads Announced

The MMI Interprovincial Ladies Football Tournament takes place tomorrow, May 21st, in Kinnegad with action getting underway at 11:00am and the MMI Interprovincial Cup Final scheduled to take place at 4:00pm.

23 May 2015; Ulster captain Caroline O'Hanlon with the cup after the game. MMI Interprovincial Championship Cup Final, Ulster v Connacht. Coralstown Kinnegad GAA, Kinnegad, Co. Wesmeath. Picture credit: Piaras Ó Mídheach / SPORTSFILE

Players that are usually only in opposition will play alongside each other as they represent their provinces in the day long tournament. Ulster have been the team to beat in this tournament in recent years and will be hoping to make it a fifth Interprovincial tournament victory in a row after winning every competition since 2012.


Ulster will bring a very strong team to defend their title as former Armagh manager, James Daly, leads his side on a quest for 5 in a row. Daly will call on 7 of his former Armagh charges including captain, Caroline O’Hanlon. 6 of Donegal’s newly crowned Lidl NFL Division 2 winners will be on show at the tournament including goal hero, Yvonne McMonagle. Linda Martin will be amongst the 4 Monaghan players that will line out, the 2015 All Star goalkeeper is yet to play in 2016 so this could be a signifcant boost for her county. The remainder of the panel includes 7 players from Cavan, the Tyrone duo of Neamh Woods and Gemma Begley and 2014 All Star Aileen Pyers also features in the squad as the only representative from Down.


Connacht have been on the losing side in the final for the past 3 years in a row so Francie Keane and his 27 player panel will be determined to make the breakthrough this year. Áine Tighe was instrumental in Leitrim’s passage through to the Connacht Intermediate Championship final scoring a goal of the season contender in the process and has been rewarded with the captaincy of her province. Tighe is joined by a further 4 Leitrim team mates. Roscommon have the biggest representation on the panel with 10 players and Galway will be represented by 9 stars including their free scoring forward, Roisin Leonard. Doireann Hughes, Clodagh McManamon and Fiona McHale are the Mayo trio that round out the 27 strong panel.


Former Meath manager, Lar Wall, will bring a 30 strong panel to the tournament which will be captained by Westmeath’s Maud Anne Foley. Foley will be joined by 8 of her  Westmeath team mates along with 5 Wexford, 6 Laois, 4 Meath, 2 Kildare and 3 players from Longford.


Munster is the name that appears on the MMI Interprovincial Trophy most often having won on 18 separate occasions, twice as many as second place Leinster. Waterford manager, Pat Sullivan will look to his 22 player panel to win their first tournament since 2011. Unsurprisingly his panel is dominated by 9 Cork players including 10 time All Ireland winners; Bríd Stack and captain Deirdre O’Reilly. 5 Waterford players will take to the field including free taking ace, Maria Delahunty. Young Tipperary star, Aisling Moloney, will be joined by 4 of her Tipperary colleagues whilst Niamh O’Dea is the forward to watch along with Laurie Ryan and Ailish Considine from Clare.


Ulster will get their campaign off to a start against last year’s beaten finalists, Connacht, with Leinster taking on Munster. The second round will take place at 12:30pm when Leinster provide the opposition for the champions whilst Connacht will meet Munster. The final round is due to take place at 2:00pm with Munster meeting Ulster and Connacht versus Leinster completing the programme. The top 2 teams will then advance to compete for the MMI Interprovincial Cup with the 3rd and 4th placed finishers meeting in the shield Final which is due to get underway at 3:45pm.


MMI Interprovincial Tournament


Round 1:


11:00am Connacht v Ulster

11:00am Leinster v Munster


Round 2:


12:30pm Leinster v Ulster

12:30pm Connacht v Munster


Round 3:


2:00pm Munster v Ulster

2:00pm Connacht v Leinster


MMI Interprovincial Shield Final


3:45pm 3rd place finisher v 4th place

4:00pm 1st place finisher v 2nd place



Connacht Squad: Galway; Johanna Connolly, Fabienne Cooney, Louise Ward, Megan Glynn, Olivia Divilly, Patricia Gleeson, Roisin Leonard, Megan Heneghan, Shauna Hynes. Roscommon; Laura Fleming, Joanne Cregg, Siobhan Tully, Richael Timothy, Jenny Higgins, Sinead Kenny, Jenny Downey, Caroline Gunning, Niamh Feeney, Shauna Connell. Leitrim; Anna Conlon, Áine Tighe (Captain), Deirdre Ward, Michelle Guckian, Michelle Heslin. Mayo; Doireann Hughes, Clodagh McManamon, Fiona McHale.


Leinster Squad: Westmeath; Sarah Keegan, Fiona Claffey, Maud Anne Foley (Captain), Laura Walsh, Aileen Martin, Jenny Rogers, Leona Archibald, Karen Hegarty, Laura Brennan. Laois; Gráinne Dunne, Jane Moore, Fiona Dooley, Noirín Kirwan, Maggie Murphy, Anna Moore. Wexford; Maria Byrne, Roisín Murphy, Cathriona Murray, Fiona Rochford. Meath; Niamh Gallogly, Stacey Grimes, Vickki Wall, Paula Dunne. Kildare; Eadaoin Connolly, Rebecca McGurk. Longford; Ashling Reynolds, Mairead Moore, Mairead Reynolds. Wicklow; Jackie Kinch


Munster Squad: Waterford; Katie Hannon, Linda Wall, Mairead Wall, Michelle McGrath, Maria Delahunty. Cork; Roisin Phelan, Bríd Stack, Deirdre O’Reilly (Captain), Orlagh Farmer, Áine O’Sullivan, Martina O’Brien, Eimear Meaney, Bríd O’Sullivan, Shauna Kelly. Clare; Laurie Ryan, Niamh O’Dea, Ailish Considine. Tipperary; Jennifer Grant, Aisling Moloney, Mairead Morrissey, Gillian O’Brien, Samantha Lambert


Ulster Squad: Monaghan; Linda Martin, Sharon Courtney, Ciara McAnespie, Cora Courtney. Donegal; Treasa Doherty, Ciara Hegarty, Katie Herron, Niamh Hegarty, Yvonne McMonagle, Laura Gallagher, Deirdre Foley. Cavan; Shauna Lynch, Sinead Greene, Roisín O’Keefe, Aisling Doonan, Donna English, Joanne Moore, Laura Fitzpatrick. Armagh; Sinead Kernan, Caroline O’Hanlon (Captain), Aoife McCoy, Sarah Marley, Niamh Marley, Fionnuala McKenna, Lauren McConville. Tyrone; Neamh Woods, Gemma Begley. Down; Aileen Pyers

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs