Monaghan and Kerry remain unbeaten

CAOIMHE Mohan helped herself to 1-6 as champions Monaghan surged three points clear at the top of Division 1 of the Tesco Homegrown Ladies National Football League on Sunday afternoon.

Gregory McGonigle’s side beat Mayo by 1-15 to 2-6 at Aughnamullen to preserve their 100 per cent record after four League outings this season.

Monaghan are now three points clear of All-Ireland champions Cork and Laois at the head of affairs.

Monaghan played with the aid of a strong breeze in the opening half but led by just a point at half-time, 1-7 to 2-4.

Mohan netted in the sixth minute but goals from Carol Hegarty and Orla Conlon had Mayo in touch at the break.

But the Westerners scored just 0-2 with the wind in the second half as Monaghan held firm.

The Farney girls could even afford the luxury of Ellen McCarron’s missed penalty and Mayo lost Claire Egan for the final minutes after she was sinbinned.

Mayo cut the gap back to two points with five minutes remaining but Monaghan finished strongly with a point from Therese McNally before Mohan hit three without reply to make the game safe.

In Division 2, Kerry moved level on points with Galway, Westmeath and Kildare at the head of affairs.

On Saturday, last year’s beaten TG4 All-Ireland senior finalists demolished Munster rivals Clare by 5-24 to 2-5 at Frank Sheehy Park in Listowel.

At half-time, Kerry led by 2-13 to 1-4, having played with the aid of the breeze in the first half.

Mags Fitzgerald bagged a hat-trick of goals for rampant Kerry, including two in the first half.

Sarah-Jane Joy and sub Laura Rogers also netted for Kerry in the second half, with Laura Hanrahan scoring a consolation goal for Clare. Marie Kelly netted for the Banner County in the first half.


Weekend results:


Tesco Homegrown Ladies National Football League Division 1


Monaghan 1-15 Mayo 2-6


Tesco Homegrown Ladies National Football League Division 2


Kerry 5-23 Clare 2-5

By Jackie Cahill

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs