Monaghan Ladies Hope Castle Senior Championship Final

Monaghan Ladies Hope Castle Senior Championship
McConnell points Donaghmoyne to 4th title

By Alan Gunn

Donaghmoyne 2-12

Aghabog 0-02


Last years defeated All Ireland finalists Donaghmoyne
are back on the road again after collecting their forth-consecutive
Monaghan Ladies Hope Castle Senior Champions at Clontibret on Saturday

All of nine minutes had elapsed before player of the match Catriona
McConnell fired over the opening score. Eileen Murtagh followed
with a second before Laura Boylan opened Aghabog’s account
in the 20th minutes. Both defences were very much on top with
Charlotte Brady outstanding for Aghabog while at the other end
players like Joanne Geoghan, Michelle Grimes and Niamh lynch were
not giving Aghabog a sniff of the goals.

Points from McConnell (2) and Murtagh extended the advantage
to four as the interval approached. However disaster struck for
Aghabog in a blistering sixty second spell on the stroke of half
time. Cora Courtney fired to the net twice to give the reigning
champions a 2-05 to 0-01 lead at the midway point.

McConnell was again on target after the resumption before Aghabog
were reduced to fourteen with Aisling Smith sin binned. Boylan
fired over a free in what was to turn out her sides final score.
McConnell (2), Hazel Kingham and Lorraine Dally added further
points for the eventual winners before they too had Kingham sin

It didn’t stop their dominance with player of the match
McConnell pointing the score of the game from out wide on the
stand side of O’Neill Park just inside the 20 metre line
with a beautifully curled effort. The same player wrapped up proceedings
with her eighth of the evening and set Donaghmoyne on their way
to another title. They now go forward aiming for a third Ulster
title in a row.

Donaghmoyne: Linda Martin, Joanne Geoghan, Michelle Grimes, Niamh
Lynch, Annette O’Toole, Fiona Courtney, Joanne Courtney,
Amanda Casey, Sharon Courtney, Eileen Murtagh (0-02), Hazel Kingham
(0-01), Lorraine Daly (0-01), Danielle McMahon, Catriona McConnell
(0-08,4f), Cora Courtney (2-00)

Subs: Majella Woods for D McMahon

Aghabog: Mairead Kelly, Colleen Mulligan, Emma O’Donoghue,
Siobhan Kelly, Breda McFadden, Aisling Smith, Charlotte Brady,
Catriona Brady, Caroline Murphy, Laura Boylan (0-02,1f), Lisa
McConnon, Suzanne Quinn, Davina Carolan, Jenny Greenan, Danielle

Subs: Michelle Kierans, Ciara McPhillips, Aine Greenan


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs