Monaghan win Ulster U-16 title

Monaghan retain their Ulster U-16 Title



Monaghan retained their Ulster U16 title with a 5-7 to
1-11 win over Tyrone in Emyvale on Saturday last. While
both teams scored twelve scores each the main difference
in the sides was the Farney ability to find the net.

Playing with the aid of a strong wind Monaghan struck first
as Rachael Mc Kenna fired over. In the fifth minute the
lively Ciara Mc Anespie scored Monaghan first goal. Laura
Boylan and Clodagh Poyntz then traded points before Monaghan
went further ahead courtesy of points from Boylan (2) and
Mc Anespie. In the 20th and 21st minute Clodagh Poyntz and
Aisling O Kane fired over for Tyrone but once again these
scores were cancelled as Mc Anespie hit another goal and
a point. In the dying minute of the half Mc Anespie found
herself one on one with the Tyrone keeper however she was
denied her hatrick as Sinead Mc Vey fouled her. Laura Boylan
expertly buried the rsulting penalty to give Monaghan a
3-6 to 0-3 halftime lead.

Click on Picture to enlarge
In the second half Tyrone used the strong wind to their
advantage and in the first quarter hit four unanswered points.
The excellent Poytnz sent over a couple as did midfielder
Emma Conlon. Both sides also had great goal chances but
were denied by great saves from keepers Mc Vey and Kirk.
Entering the final quarter the wind dropped and Monaghan
midfielder Tessa Fleming madea driving run forward. To her
surprise no one could catch her and she finished the run
with a cracking goal. Tyrone to their credit came straight
down the field and managed a goal of their own, from the
unmarked Poyntz. The Cappagh player then brought her tally
to 1-5 with another point however Monaghan’s best forward
Ciara Mc Anespie also fired over to leave her with a tally
of 2-3 for the day. Poyntz , Lyceria Quinn and Emma Conlon
scored further points in the last five minutes but all their
efforts were in vain as Monaghan substitute Ellie Mc Carron
found the net with her first kick of the match.

Monaghan – . Kirk, M. O Neill, G. Mc Kenna, T. Mc Elvaney,
A. Mc Anespie, S. Mc Cara, Rebecca Mc Kenna, N. Fahy, T.
Fleming (1-0), L. Boylan (1-3), A. Hackett, C. Mc Anespie
(2-3), Rachael Mc Kenna (0-1), S. Busby, S. Maguire. Subs
Used – N. Mohan, E. Mc Meel and E. Mc Carron (1-0).

Tyrone – S. Mc Vey, A. Mc Shane, C. Monroe, R. Rafferty,
E. Mc Shane, R. Molloy, S. Loughran, E. Conlon (0-3), S.
Quinn, E. Hegarty, L.Quinn (0-1), N. Hughes, A. O Knae (0-1),
C. Poyntz (1-6), R. Mc Crory. Subs Used – B. Quinn and S.

Referee – B. Henry (Armagh)

In the B final played at the same venue Down overcame Fermanagh
3-10 to 2-6. Goals from Grainne Kelly and Lorraine Havern
had helped the Mourne side to a 2-6 to 1-4 half time lead.
In the second half Fermanagh’s Mary Cunningham added to
Eimear Keenan’s first half major however once Olga Fagan
found the net for Down for the third time there was no way
back for Fermanagh.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs