Moville reclaim Donegal u-16 county title after 3 year absence.

Moville u-16s ladies reclaimed the county title in a thrilling game  vs Fanad Gaels this evening in Convoy .Moville started the brighter and raced into an early two point lead before Fanad goaled with virtually there first attack, closely followed by a point from Aoife McDeveitt. However, the Moville girls soon settled down after this early setback and began to play the fast running game that had carried them to this final. They cut open the Fanad defence on 3 occasions to raise the green flag with goals from Sarah Jane Mc Donald, Roma Mc Laughlin. They picked off 4 additional points but  Fanad, themselves playing well kept the scoreboard ticking at the other end with a goal from Éimear Gibbons and a point from Rachel Sweeney. Moville held a narrow lead at half time of 3-06 to 3-03.

If the first half was exciting then the second half had everything that is good about ladies football. Fanad started brightly and soon levelled the game and then went ahead with scores from Michelle Diherty and Caoimhe Walsh. Moville responded before Fanad had a ten minute period of dominance in which they moved into a two point lead thanks to some strong running through the middle. With about eight minutes to go, Fanad were awarded a penalty which was brilliantly saved by Amy Canning. This seemed to spur the Moville girls on they pressurised the Fanad defence time after time. Great work from Miaread Coll in the centre of the field and Aisling Howe in the backline helped to contain the Moville forward. Sarah Jane Mc Donald goaled for Movillefrom a free  on the 13m line and this was quickly followed by a couple of points to leave the Inisowen girls two points ahead. Fanad reduced the deficit to the minimum but from the resulting kick out, Roma Mc Laughlin picked  the ball on her own 45 and drove forward before calmly slotting the ball over the bar form 30 m for the final score of the game to leave the final score 5-09 to 5-07.

Niamh Cavanagh accepted the cup from Donegal Ladies President , Kenny Griffen. She thanked the girls for their hard work and committment everyone who had contributed to the team winning the title and especially to manager, Paul Mc Dermott and his backroom team of William Mc Elhinney, Elaine Cavanagh, Sonia Mc Laughlin and Margaret Mc Donald.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs