2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Munster Club Championship Match Reports


Club Championship Munster 


Donoughmore 3-13 St Patrick’s Kerry 1-5

The Peter O’Regan Transport sponsored Donoughmore,
ladies football team, moved like an express juggernaut
when they steamrolled hapless St Pat’s of Kerry
in the Munster Senior Final at Ballyagran on Sunday.
Apart form the opening quarter, at the end of
which inspiring capt Juliet Murphy billowed the
net, the holders for the past 2 years were never
seriously troubled. On the evidence of this superb
performance it takes a brave, if not foolish person,
to bet against the Mossy Barrett coached team,
retaining their Munster Crown.

Leading on a scoreline of 1-6 to 0-2 at the break,
they had one anxious moment after the changeover,
when Eimear Knightly rattled the net. This really
stung Donoughmore into retaliation and from there
to the finish playing, an attractive brand of
open no nonsense football, they scored at will.
Mary O’Connor finished the hour with a personal
tally of 1-7 Juliet Murphy on 1-3 and Aisling
O’Connor 1-1, apart from those there were huge
contributions from Edel O’Sullivan at Fullback,
the rock like half back line of Rena Buckley,
Rose Cogan and an irrepressible Vera Sheehan,
while Hanora Kelleher continues to defy time.

St Pat’s, a combination from the Beaufort, Killarney
and Killorglin districts, were having their first
experience at this level will be disappointed
but will have leaned a lesson. and with players
of the calibre of Katie Gleeson, Deirdre Dennehy,
Patrice Dennehy and Ann-Maria O’Donoghue, they
will have hope for the future. Referee Derek Byrne
contributed hugely to an open and free flowing

Scorers Donoughmore: Mary O’Connor 1-7, Juliet
Murphy 1-3. Aisling O’Connor 1-1 Aisling Barrett
0-1. Ruth Ann Buckely. 0-1. St Pats Eimear Knightley
1-0 Patrice Dennehy 0-3 Margaret O’Donoghue 0-1
Sandra Joy 0-1. Donoughmore T. Rodgers, E Walsh,
E o’Sullivan, S O’Connell, V Sheehan, R. Buckley,
R. Cogan, H Kelleher. J. Murphy capt. A Barrett
A o’Connor, L Barrett, M O’Connor, L Murphy, C
O’Connell. G. O’Connor, C Moran, R A Buckley,
O Mc Sweeney. L. O’Mahony, Y Twomey, A Greene,
M Y Twomey.

St Pat’s C. O’Connor, G. O’Malley K Gleeson J.
Johnson, N McKenna, D Dennehy, J Murphy, S J Joy,
M O’Donoghue, S Joy, M Finnegan, J Spillane, E
Knightley, P Dennehy, A M O’Donoghue. G. O’Connor,
T O’Donoghue, D. Murphy, A Hasset, J Murphy, C
Buckley. J. Brosnan, C Desmond A Brosnan J Murphy.

Abeydorney win Junior

Abbeydorney 3-11 Templemore 2-5

In the curtain raiser Abbeydorney captured the
Junior title overcoming the stiff challenge of
the Tipperary girls from Templemore. The sides
were level at the break and inspired by Kerry
Senior Noreen Feely who had a personal tally of
1-7 they were well clear at he end The remaining
scores coming from Sinead Bunyan 1-0 Lisa Brick
1-0 Eimear McGelligot 0-2 Edel O’Connell 0-1 and
Laura O’Mahony 0-1. Mary Ryan with 1-3 Deirdre
Doyle 1-0 and Norma Maher 0-2 were on the mark
for the Tipp girls.

Athea win at 5th attempt.

Athea 1-9 Beara 2-4

At the 5th attempt Athea from Limerick finally
came good when they got the better of Beara in
an exciting final. Beara with 13 players with
Cork experience, 6 at Senior level were expected
to triumph in this Intermediate showpiece, but
they could not match the strength and tenacity
of the Limerick girls, who were inspired by Maebh
Nash, Helena Collins, Mary Ita casey and the 3
Higgins Sisters daughters of Manager Pat, Lorraine,
Leanne and Louise who contributed 1-6 0f their
total. The remaining points coming for Leanne
Higgins 0-2 and Kate Collins. 0-1 Beara replied
from Susan Power 1-0 penalty, Vicky Power 1-0,
Miriam Sheehan 0-2,. Amanda Murphy 0-1 and Berni
O’ Sullivan 0-1.

Fr. Liam Kelleher PRO 087-8516984



Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs