2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Munster Ladies Gaelic Football Convention 2006

Munster Ladies Gaelic Football Convention 2006


The Annual convention of ladies Gaelic was held on Sunday December
10th at the Firgrove Hotel, Mitchelstown, Co. Cork at 11.00 am.

The President of the Council Michael Ryan opened convention by
welcoming the delegates. He also congratulated the new Chairmen
of Cork, Kerry, Waterford and Tipperary and wished them well for
the coming year.

We then had the various reports from the Treasurer, Secretary,
P.R.O. and Development Officer.

Recommendations sent in for Convention by a number of Counties
were debated.

The first recommendation by Clare referred to the structure of
the Munster u14 championship for the coming year. The new structure,
which was agreed on by the delegates, was to have two groups for
the Championship. Group one consisting of Waterford, Limerick
and Tipperary in a round robin. The winner of this group to join
Cork, Clare and Kerry in Group 2 again in a

round robin format. The top two from this group play in Munster
“A” final, the 3rd and 4th placed teams play in the
“B” final, the remaining 2 teams from group 1 play in
a shield final.

The second recommendation by Clare looked to restructure the format
of the Munster Cailíní Oga. They proposed that each
County have one panel of thirty players, rather than the current
format of two teams of 20 players.

After a good deliberation between the delegates, and officers
of the Council it was decided to stick with the current structure,
but that there be no Munster Final, and that each girl would receive
a medal. It was felt that the Munster Cailíní Oga
was getting too competitive, and with the new structure, it would
help to eliminate this problem and still ensures forty girls from
each County get the opportunity to wear their respective County
jersey keeping the main focus of the competition being development
for our

young players.

The following are the officers of Munster ladies Gaelic football
Council for the season of 2007.

President: Michael Ryan (Waterford)

Secretary/Administrator Maire Halvey (Limerick)

Vice President: Dan O Mahony (Cork)

Assistant Secretary: Judy O Connor (Limerick)

Treasurer: James Lafferty (Clare)

Assistant Treasurer: Tom Madigan (Limerick)

P.R.O.: James Doran (Kerry)

Registrar: Eileen O Brien (Cork)

Development Officer: George Young (Waterford)

Cultural & Language Officer: John O Connor (Kerry)

In addition, I would like to wish all those involved in ladies
Gaelic football at club, county and provincial level and their
families a very happy and peaceful Christmas along with our President
Michael Ryan in his second year of presidency, and also our hard
working Secretary Maire Halvey


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs