Munster U-16 B Football Final

Munster U-16 B Football Final

Date: Wednesday July 2nd
Venue: Bansha, Co. Tipperary.

Throw In: 7.00pm

Defending Munster and All Ireland U-16 B Champions Clare put their titles on the line on Wednesday evening when they face a Tipperary side intent on seeking revenge for last years final defeat in Cusack Park, Ennis. Those who were present at last years epic final will recall that Tipperary held an interval lead of seven points over Clare despite playing into a significant breeze. When the Premier county extended this lead with an early second half score all seemed lost for the Banner county representatives but the Clare girls put in a storming final quarter to wrest the trophy from the Tipp girl’s grasp and proceeded to win the All Ireland championship outright in September.

Clare has to travel to Tipperary however for this year’s decider so nothing short of a top notch performance will suffice on Wednesday evening if they are to retain their Munster title. Clare have the players to produce such a performance and can count amongst their ranks All Ireland Féile Division 1 players such as Niamh O’Dea, Laurie Ryan, Eimear O’Connor, Louise Woods, Megan Hough, Marie McMahon and Aoife Davoren amongst others. Add in the experience of Cooraclare’s Sally Glynn and the Banner Ladies’ Naomi Carroll together with Kilmihil star Ailish Considine and you see a serious team taking shape. Wolfe Tones ace Toni Lagan is also a formidable competitor as is Miltown’s Niamh Pender so Clare won’t be lacking in quality when lining out on Munster Final day.

Under the management of JJ O’Dea of Kilfenora this team will give it’s all for the success of the county. Expect a big performance on Wednesday evening from this team and hopefully the silverware raised by last year’s captain Niamh Martin will remain in Clare hands.

Dr. Paul McKenna,
PRO Clare Ladies Football

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs