On form O'Reilly shoots Geevagh to Connacht Title

Ladies Connacht Intermediate Club Final

On form O’Reilly shoots Geevagh to Connacht

Geevagh (Sligo) 5 – 7 Annaghdown (Galway)
3 – 11

Sligo champions Geevagh became Sligo’s first winners
of the Connacht Intermediate crown as they had two points to spare
over Galway title bearers Annaghdown at Tuam Stadium in this thrilling
Final replay. A personal tall of 4 – 4 from former Connacht young
player of the year Stephanie O’Reilly helped in no small way to
insure another piece of silverware for the Yeats County.

The winners made the worst possible start as midway through the
first half they trailed their opponents by seven points, 2 – 2 to
1 – 0. Rachel King shot Annaghdown into an early lead when sending
to the net in the second minute, Stephanie O’Reilly’s first goal
arrived in the 5th minute to bring the sides level. The next three
scores would go the way of the losers as Nicola Burke scored a goal
and a point with afore mentioned King adding a point also midway
through the half.

Points by Lorraine Mulvaney and Louise Smith kept Geevagh in touch
with a goal from Stephanie O’Reilly bringing the sides level by
the 20th minute. Having drawn level, Geevagh were then dealt a double
blow as first Annaghdown were awarded a penalty and then Geevagh
net minder Emma Cullen was sent to the sin bin for the resulting
foul. County midfielder Bernice Byrne took over in goals for the
spot kick and duly saved Rachel King’s spot kick. For the remainder
of the half Byrne returned to her outfield duties with Maureen Mostyn
taking over between the posts.

Aoife Scully edged Annaghdown back in front only for them to be
hit by a double blow from Geevagh as Mairead Mc Donagh and Stephanie
O’Reilly goaled to send the winners into a 5 point lead heading
for half time. It was a lead the East Sligo outfit on the environments
of Roscommon would never lose. Niamh Duggan and Stephanie O’Reilly
exchanged points before the short whistle to leave Geevagh ahead
at 4 – 3 to 2 – 4.

The second half started the same as the first with the losers recording
two scores in succession through Rachel King to narrow the gap back
to three. Within second of the second point, they were hit by another
O’Reilly blow once again a goal with the Inform full forward was
on hand to finish off a sweeping move. Ten minutes into the second
half, another penalty for Annaghdown. This time Emma Cullen saved
from Rachel King with rebound going wide of King’s boot. The losers
did manage to reduce the gap to four points as Valerie Scully added
two points to their tally entering the final ten minutes.

Stephanie O’Reilly settled Geevagh nerves with a point only for
the losers to reduce the gap back to three as Maeve Toner and Valerie
Scully added points to set up a grand stand finish. Bernice Byrne
punched a point to edge Geevagh four up with four minutes remaining
and things got even better for Geevagh as Stephanie O’Reilly added
two more to give them a six point cushion. In the dying minutes
Annaghdown added a point through Niamh Duggan and a goal from Aoife
Scully but their was no denying Geevagh a first Connacht Club title
in what has been a remarkable 4 years for the Club.

There was even more joy for Geevagh as their Full Forward and chief
scorer: Stephanie O’Reilly was named as the player of the Game.

Scorers Geevagh: Louise Smith 0 – 1, Stephanie O’Reilly 4 – 4, Lorraine
Mulvanny 0 – 1, Bernice Byrne 0 – 1, Mairead Mc Donagh 1 – 0.

Scores Annaghdown: Rachel King 1 – 3, Nicola Burke 1 – 2, Aoife
Scully 1 – 2, Valerie Scully 0 – 2, Niamh Duggan.

Geevagh: Emma Cullen, Yvonne Frezer, Amanda Mostyn, Maureen Mostyn,
Patricia Cogan, Elaine Mc Tiernan, Elaine Dodd, Sinead Mc Tiernan,
Bernice Byrne, Lorraine Mulvaney, Louise Smith, Elaine O’Reilly,
Mairead Mc Donagh, Stephanie O’Reilly, Laura Mulvaney. Sub used:
Nicola Sweeney.

Annaghdown: Angela Burke, Marian Murray, Patrica Fahy, Michelle
Scully, Teresa Fahy, Fiona Wynne, Aoife Wynne, Grainne Barrett,
Fiona Cooley, Aoife Scully, Valerie Scully, Niamh Duggan, Nicola
Burke, Rachel King, Maeve Toner.

Referee: Declan Corcoran (Mayo)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs