O'Neill's/TG4 All Stars 2006

O’Neill’s/TG4 All Stars 2006
Yet again the All Star Gala Banquet was a night to
remember as almost 800 guests descended on the spectacular City
West Hotel. Entertainment on the night was from the top draw and
TG4’s Aoife Ní Thuairisg and GAA commentator Marty Morrissey
excellently presented the show.


At the end of a wonderful night fifteen girls picked up the All
Star accolades with nine counties in all represented. Ten of the
recipients picked up their first ever award that saw TG4 All Ireland
and Suzuki NFL champions Cork top the list with four winners spilt
between defence and forwards.


Beaten All Ireland finalists Armagh received three awards, the
first ever to come from the county. Katrina Connolly took the honour
of net minder for her county Sligo but unfortunately Katrina was
unable to attend on the night as she was out of the country. Laois
took two awards, with Limerick, Kerry, Waterford, Meath and Galway
all taking one apiece.


Also collecting an award on the night was Bill Daly from the Ballyboden
club in Dublin. Bill formally from Cavan was the deserved recipient
of the Hall of Fame award. The four provincial players of the year
award winners, Ciara McAnespie (Monaghan), Denise Hallissey (Kerry),
Sinead O’Mahoney (Dublin) and Lisa Cafferky (Dublin) were presented
with their trophies by An Taoiseach Bertie Ahern.


Full list of the 2006 O’Neill’s/TG4 All Stars are as follows.

1. Katrina Connolly (Sligo)

2. Caoimhe Marley (Armagh)

3. Angela Walsh (Cork) (2nd all star)

4. Rena Buckley (Cork) (2nd all star))

5. Aoibheann Daly (Galway) (2nd all star)

6. Bronagh O’Donnell (Armagh)

7. Patricia Fogarty (Laois)

8. Caroline O’Hanlon (Armagh)

9. Mary O’Donnell (Waterford) (4th all star)

10. Nollaig Cleary (Cork)

11. Grainne Nulty (Meath)

12. Sarah O’Connor (Kerry) (2nd all star)

13. Tracey Lawlor (Laois)

14. Mary O’Connor (Cork)

15. Dympna O’Brien (Limerick)

Young Player of the Year winners
Ulster: Ciara McAnespie (Monaghan)

Munster: Denise Hallissey (Kerry)

Leinster: Sinead O’Mahoney (Dublin)

Connacht: Lisa Cafferky (Mayo)


Hall of Fame: Bill Daly (Dublin)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs