PREVIEWS: 2019 Lidl All-Ireland Junior Post Primary Schools Finals

WITH the 2019 Lidl All-Ireland Post Primary School Senior champions crowned, attention turns to the Junior Finals on Friday, April 5, and Saturday, April 6.

The action gets underway on Friday when Coláiste Oiriall from Monaghan meet Moate Community School from Westmeath in the Junior B Final.

On Saturday, the A and C finals will be contested, with Galway’s Coláiste Bhaile Chláir looking to regroup in the A Final, following last weekend’s Senior B Final defeat to St Patrick’s Academy, Dungannon.

Coláiste Bhaile Chláir’s opponents are St Catherine’s College, Armagh, while it’s Tipperary against Wexford in the C Final, as Cashel Community School take on FCJ Bunclody.


Friday 5th April 2019


Lidl All Ireland Post Primary School Junior ‘B’ Championship 2019 – Final – Result on the Day

Coláiste Oiriall (Monaghan) v Moate CS, (Westmeath), 12.30pm, Glennon Brothers, Pearse Park, Longford, (S Curley, Galway)

You have to go back to 2006 for the last time that a Monaghan school won a Lidl All-Ireland Post Primary Schools Junior Final.

In 2006, St Louis won the A title while victory for Moate Community School would mark a first All-Ireland Junior crown for county Westmeath.

Coláiste Oiriall will attempt to bridge the gap for Monaghan in the Junior grades and they came through a mammoth Ulster campaign before emerging victorious.

Coláiste Oiriall played six games in the province but scored heavily throughout, before putting 5-4 past St Mary’s High School, Midleton, in the All-Ireland semi-final.

In total, Coláiste Oiriall have scored 46 goals 7 games, which is great shooting, but opponents Moate know where the back of the net is too.

In their five games, including four in Leinster, Moate have registered 30 goals, and they racked up 2-14 in the All-Ireland semi-final win against St Clare’s Manorhamilton, Leitrim.


Coláiste Oiriall: Ó Ní Cheallaigh; A Ní Fhionnagáin, S Ní Earáin, A Ní Chearrulláin; U Ní Chongaile, M Ní Raghallaigh, J Nic Fhinn; B Nic An Fhailí (capt.), L Ní Chuinneagáin; A Ní Chorragáin, H Nic Uaid, C Ní Mhaolchalann; D Ní Ghallchóir, É Ní Shearraigh, E Ní Mhiacháin.


Moate CS: E Quigley; C McCormack, R Martin, C Moran; M Farrell, R Killian, H Keenan; Á Gaynor, M Clinton; A Heavin, A Cornally, K Burslem Rotheroe; S Mulvihill, A Dalton (capt.), H Kelly.


Saturday 6th April 2019


Lidl All Ireland Post Primary School Junior ‘A’ Championship 2019 – Final – Result on the Day

Coláiste Bhaile Chláir, Claregalway (Galway) v St Catherine’s College (Armagh) 1.30pm, Mohill GAA, Leitrim, (K Corcoran, Mayo)

COLÁISTE Bhaile Chláir have a second chance to claim a 2019 Lidl All-Ireland Post Primary Schools title on Saturday.

The Claregalway outfit lost out to St Patrick’s Academy, Dungannon, in the Senior B Final last Friday but the Junior A decider presents another opportunity to claim silverware.

Coláiste Bhaile Chláir will line out with three of the players who started in the Senior B Final – goalkeeper Alanah Griffin, Megan Flaherty, who will captain the Junior A side, and Kiara Kearney.

In addition, Chellene Trill, Brenda Naughton and Laura Scanlon were all brought off the bench in the Senior B decider, and start on this occasion.

CBC swept all before them in Connacht before enjoying an impressive All-Ireland semi-final victory over Scoil Chríost Rí Portlaoise, who were crowned Senior A champions last Saturday.

But CBC will face stiff opposition from St Catherine’s, who came through a tough route in Ulster to reach the last four of the All-Ireland series.

In the recent All-Ireland semi-final, St Catherine’s came good in the second half to see off the challenge of Loreto, Clonmel.

Victory for St Catherine’s would keep the Junior A title in Ulster, following victory for Loreto, Cavan, last year.

CBC, meanwhile, are looking to become the first Connacht outfit since Glenamaddy from Galway in 2013 to land this crown.


Coláiste Bhaile Chláir: A Griffin; L Tunney, M Flaherty (capt.), A O’Flynn; S Lawless, C Trill, M McGarry; K Kearney, B Naughton; C Hegarty, L Scanlon, É Brennan; S Cogley, H Walsh, É O’Riordan.


St Catherine’s College: C Kelly; A Mallon, A Boyle, M Hughes; C Campbell, E Druse, C McCormick; C Creaney, M Ferguson; E Reid, C Mullan, L McAlary (capt.); E Conroy, H Duffy, E Lambe.


Lidl All Ireland Post Primary School Junior ‘C’ Championship 2019 – Final – Result on the Day

Cashel CS (Tipperary) v FCJ Bunclody (Wexford), 1pm, St Molleran’s, Carrickbeg, Waterford, (E Moran, Kerry)

Cashel Community School will look to restore some pride for Tipperary after Loreto, Clonmel, lost out in the Senior A Final last weekend.

It’s been a remarkable season for Cashel, who have tasted All-Ireland camogie glory as well as contesting an All-Ireland Senior B football semi-final.

The Senior B team only lost out to eventual winners St Patrick’s Academy, Dungannon, after extra-time and the Junior C outfit will now hope to bring an All-Ireland football crown to the school.

Cashel have been in cracking form en route to the final, playing six games in Munster before seeing off the challenge of Our Lady’s, Newry, in the All-Ireland semi-final.

But opponents FCJ Bunclody from Wexford are a force to be reckoned with.

Like Cashel, Bunclody have a keen eye for goal and one of their opponents in Leinster were hit for 12-29.

Bunclody will look to emulate the exploits of St Mary’s, New Ross, in 2012 by bringing the Junior C title to Wexford.


Cashel CS: C Casey; E O’Dwyer, L Kavanagh, F McEniry; L Fogarty, K Downey, G Moloney; A Gayson Molloy, E McCarthy; R Farrell, L Baskin (capt.), A Mazzola; A Fahie, F Tuohy, L Fahie.


FCJ Bunclody: A Dunne; A Tobin Cosgrave, E Mimnagh, A Dreelan; K Nolan, S Nolan, Y Kelly; K Breen-Sherlock, E O’Rourke; L Kelly (capt.), L Roban, O Kehoe; K Bates, A Mahon, C Jordan.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs