Previews and team news ahead of TG4 All-Ireland SFC semi-finals and All-Ireland U16 Final replay

THE 2023 TG4 All-Ireland Senior Championship Finalists will be revealed in Thurles on Saturday evening, with Mayo, Kerry, Cork and Dublin all in the hunt.

The winners of the semi-finals at FBD Semple Stadium can begin making plans for the 50th All-Ireland Ladies Senior Championship Final at Croke Park on Sunday August 13.

Mayo take on Kerry at 5pm in what is a repeat of last year’s semi-final, before Cork and Dublin clash at 7.30pm.

Both games are live on

This evening (FRI), Cavan and Cork meet at Limerick’s TUS Gaelic Grounds in the All-Ireland U16 Final replay.

Friday July 28 

All-Ireland U16 A Championship Final – REPLAY 

Cork v Cavan; TUS Gaelic Grounds, Limerick, 7.30pm

This fixture pits two brilliant teams against each other once again, following a thrilling draw first time out between Cork and Cavan at Breland Park in Clara, Co. Offaly on Sunday July 16.

That game was a quite magnificent spectacle that ebbed and flowed and the sides couldn’t be separated after extra-time.

This evening, they’ll do it all over again as last year’s runners-up, Cork, take on Cavan looking to bridge a nine-year gap by landing the All-Ireland U16 A title.

A Cork win would send the silverware to Leeside for the first time since 2014, while you have to go back to 1977 for Cavan’s solitary title.

Cork, in contrast, would secure a tenth title this evening if they can get the better of their opponents from the Breffni County.

Cork: A Toye; É Walsh, A Tobin, A O’Sullivan (capt.); R Breen, M McRea, M Barrett; J Foskin, K McEntee; C Murphy, E O’Donovan, C Horgan; E Nagle, L Walsh, K Carey.

Cavan: F Higgins; K Cahill, C McDonnell, K Grigorenko; A Kennedy, K.M. Reilly (capt.), C Crowe; E Mussi, L Miney; R Gilmartin, E Sheridan, K Fegan; M Lynch, C Clarke, K O’Meara.

Saturday July 29 

TG4 All-Ireland SFC semi-finals 

Kerry v Mayo; Semple Stadium, Thurles, 5pm – Live on TG4 

WITH Síofra O’Shea ruled out through injury, Danielle O’Leary comes into the Kerry starting line-up.

O’Leary comes in at full-forward for O’Shea, who was diagnosed with cruciate knee ligament damage this week.

Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh takes over from O’Shea as team captain for a repeat of the 2022 All-Ireland semi-final between the sides.

O’Leary’s inclusion is the only change in personnel for Kerry from the team that defeated 2021 and 2022 champions Meath in the quarter-finals.

In the last eight, Mayo scored a last-gasp victory over Connacht rivals Galway in Salthill and manager Michael Moyles has named an unchanged starting line-up.

This is a third successive semi-final appearance for Mayo, and they’ll be itching to get one over on Kerry following defeat at the penultimate hurdle last year.

But Mayo, targeting a first Final appearance since 2017, will have to improve significantly to take on a Kerry side viewed by many as favourites to lift the Brendan Martin Cup on August 13.

Kerry: C Butler; E Lynch, K Cronin, C Murphy; A O’Connell, E Costello, C Lynch; L Scanlon, L Galvin; N Carmody, N Ní Chonchúir, A Galvin; H O’Donoghue, D O’Leary, L Ní Mhuircheartaigh.

Mayo: L Brennan; S Lally, C McManamon, D Caldwell; É Ronayne, C Needham, K Sullivan (capt.); A Geraghty, F McHale; S Cafferky, R Kearns, S Mulvihill; T Needham, D Doherty, S Walsh.

Cork v Dublin; Semple Stadium, Thurles, 7.30pm – Live on TG4 

CORK boss Shane Ronayne and his Dublin counterpart Mick Bohan have made alterations ahead of Saturday’s semi-final.

Cork dug out a gritty quarter-final win away to Armagh and Ronayne has handed starts to Aoife Healy and Bríd O’Sullivan for the Dublin game, with Laura O’Mahony ad dual player Orlaith Cahalane dropping to the bench.

Dublin were impressive in their quarter-final win away to Donegal and Bohan has made one change in personnel for the trip to Semple Stadium, with Ellen Gribben replacing Niamh Donlon in defence.

These sides will meet in Championship football for the first time since the 2020 Final at Croke Park, which was played behind closed doors.

It’s also a first semi-final clash between the counties since 2019 and this fixture will revive memories of some classic clashes from yesteryear.

Dublin are aiming for a first Final since 2021, while Cork will look to get back to the Final stage for the first time since that 2020 defeat.

Cork: M O’Sullivan; M Duggan, E Meaney, R Phelan; A Ryan, S Kelly, A Healy; M O’Callaghan (capt.), H Looney; D Kiely, C O’Sullivan, B O’Sullivan; L Coppinger, D O’Sullivan, E Cleary.

Dublin: A Shiels; N Crowley, L Caffrey, A Kane; L Magee, M Byrne, E Gribben; J Dunne, E O’Dowd; C O’Connor, O Nolan, K Sullivan; H Tyrrell, C Rowe (capt.), J Egan.

Ticket details available at: and


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs