PREVIEWS: Time to crown the 2023 ZuCar All-Ireland U18 Champions!

THE 2023 ZuCar All-Ireland U18 champions will be crowned on Saturday, August 5, with Finals in the A, B and C grades down for decision.  

At Glennon Brothers Pearse Park in Longford, last year’s runners-up Galway take on Kildare, in what is a repeat of the 2022 semi-final between the counties.  

That game has a 2pm start and will be streamed live on the Spórt TG4 YouTube page: 

The B Final between Kerry and Sligo will have a 2.30pm start at MacDonagh Park, Nenagh, while Donegal and Waterford will contest the C Final, which is fixed for Kinnegad at 2.30pm.  

Both of those games will be live-streamed on the LGFA Facebook Page: 


Saturday August 5

Please click on county names below for full squad listings: 

ZuCar All-Ireland U-18 Championship Finals

A: Galway v Kildare; Glennon Brothers Pearse Park, Longford – 2pm  


This fixture features Galway, runners-up in 2022, against Kildare, who are appearing in a very first Minor A Final.  


In total, this will be an 11th A Final appearance for Galway, who have been crowned champions previously in 2018, 2014, 2013, 2010, 2005 and 2002.  


Kildare’s march to a first Minor A Final is an historic achievement and indicative of the great work being done in the county, with the Lilywhites also preparing for a TG4 All-Ireland Intermediate Final on Sunday August 13.  


Kildare were All-Ireland Minor B champions in 2018 and they’ll aim now to seal A glory at the first attempt, having lost out at the semi-final stage to Galway last year.  


Galway and Kildare are fresh from their respective semi-final victories over Monaghan and Cork.  


Galway: L O’Halloran; S Ní Scanláin, M.A. Jordan, E Brogan; B Naughton, A Eilian (capt.), R Reddington; K Slattery, K Banek; É Smith, É Baird, A Madden; S McGovern, N Divilly, K Thompson.


Kildare: S Knightly; J Duggan, E Glancy (capt.), Z Hurley; J Brannigan, L Dunlea, H Murphy; S McGovern, M Doyle; E Birchall, E Kendrick, A Murnane; N Farrelly; A Whelan, L McGovern.


B: Kerry v Sligo; MacDonagh Park, Nenagh, Co. Tipperary – 2.30pm  


This fixture features Kerry and Sligo, who are appearing in their very first Minor B Finals.  


Kerry have appeared in Minor A Finals in the past, winning all three appearances in 1995, 1981 and 1980, and this game will revive memories of the recent All-Ireland U16 B Final between the counties.  


Kerry came out on top on that occasion but Sligo will be hoping to gain revenge here and claim what would be a very first piece of national silverware at minor level.  


Kerry and Sligo are fresh from their respective semi-final victories over Dublin and Cavan.


Kerry: A Looney; K Fuery, R Smith, L Reilly; C Gannon, R Rahilly (capt.), O McKenna; É Ní Laighinn, K Enright; A Curtin, L McMahon, N Quinn; J Gill, J Curtin, K Doe.


Sligo: M Burke; H Redican, C King, E Boland; I Henry, K Walsh, J Gabbidon; T Breheny, C Walsh; A McDaniel, R Smith, B Lavin; L Foley (capt.), L Normanly, J Monaghan.


C: Donegal v Waterford; Kinnegad, Co. Westmeath – 2.30pm  


This fixture features Donegal and Waterford, previous A Finalists who will grace a C Final for the first time.  


Donegal are three-time A Finalists in the past, winning in 2009, while Waterford have played in seven A Finals, winning in 2001, 1997 1996, 1993 and 1991.  


These are two counties that boast rich Ladies Gaelic Football traditions, with Donegal and Waterford fresh from their respective semi-final victories over Leitrim and Westmeath.  


Donegal: A Randles; E Ward, A Temple Asokuh, A Porter; T.R. Mahon, S McGinley, N Harkin (capt); U Boyle, R McColgan; E Gallagher, A Walsh, C Doherty; M Bennett, A O’Neill, K Dowds.


Waterford: K Gardiner; C Power, R Mackle, E Bolger; O Power, C Whelan Barrett, N Whelan; A Waring, L Ní Arta; K Brazil, H McGrath, L Browne; E O’Neill, A Shankey (capt.), M Comerford.


Ticket details available at: 

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs