Report: Cavan and Armagh share the spoils in Templeport cracker

LIDL NFL Division 2 round 2

Cavan: 2-14
Armagh 2-14

Saturday saw the battle of the Ulster counties Cavan and Armagh in Templeport.  This game had the potential to be a cracker as it also marked the return of James Daly to face his native county and the team that he recently managed to Division 2 league glory in 2015 and to an Ulster senior championship in 2014.

In round 1 Cavan overcame the challenge of Laois while Armagh were narrowly defeated by newly promoted Tipperary. It was the home team that got off to the quickest start with 3 Cavan frees. However the Mackin sisters kept Armagh in the game early on with Aimee Mackin slotting over a point before sister Blaithin lobbed the Cavan keeper to raise a green flag.

Cavan responded positively with Bronagh Sheridan and Aisling Doonan contributing 6 unanswered points.

The well-marshalled Cavan defence led by Rachael Doonan and Laura Fitzpatrick kept the Armagh forwards from finding the net for the second time on several occasions with some excellent defending.  

Aimee Mackin again reduced the deficit with 2 more points leaving the score 1-5 to 9 points with 25 minutes played. A big turning point came in the 30th minute when Cavan goalkeeper Holly Lynch pulled off a fantastic save to deny Aoife McCoy and Cavan carried the ball up the field with Bronagh Sheridan adding another point to her tally. This left the score Cavan 0-10 Armagh 1-5 at the break.

The introduction of the experience Grainne McGlade at the break gave Cavan the boost and drive they needed and it was the home side who made the brighter starts to the half with Cavan scoring their first goal of the half in the 2nd minute after Bronagh Sheridan took a quick free to the impressive Aisling Doonan who finished with a well taken goal. In the 7th minute the in form Ashling Sheridan palmed the ball into the Armagh net for the second time after a free from Aisling Doonan dropped into the square to the waiting Cavan forward. This left 8 points between the two teams and looked like a home win.

However led by Aimee Mackin and Lauren McConville Armagh made a brilliant recovery and fought their way back into the game by scoring 4 unanswered points; 2 back to back points from Aimee Mackin, one from Lauren McConville and another for Blaithin Mackin. This left 4 points between the teams as the game approached the 42nd minute.

Aisling Doonan brought her tally for the day up to 1-6 with another pointed free but Armagh responded in perfect fashion with Lauren McConville finding the net following 3 more Armagh points to level the game in the 52nd minute. For the remainder of the game the sides traded points with very little separating the teams. Cavan finished the game with 13 players and Armagh with 14 as Gallagher showed yellow cards to Mona Sheridan, Sinead Greene and Caroline O’Hanlon. The final score of the game came from Aimee Mackin ensuring the points were shared when the final whistle blew.

The large support that gathered in Templeport  for the game enjoyed a fantastic game of football  with Aisling Doonan, Bronagh Sheridan and Ashling Sheridan kicking a combined score of 2-13 for the home team with Aimee Mackin finishing with an impressive tally of 0-8. Next Sunday 11th February Cavan play Clare away.

Scores: Cavan A. Doonan (1-6), B. Sheridan (0-5), A. Sheridan (1-2), Andrea O’Reilly (0-1)

Armagh: A. Mackin (0-8), B. Mackin (1-1), L. McConville (1-1), C.O’Hanlon (0-2), T. Grimes (0-1), A. McCoy (0-1)

Cavan: Holly Lynch (Kingscourt), Rachael Doonan (Templeport), Laura Fitzpatrick (St. Finbarrs), Joanne Moore (Lacken), Neasa Byrd (Crosserlough), Sinead Greene (Templeport), Sinead McKenna (Crosserlough), Mona Sheridan (Mullahoran), Sinead O’Sullivan(LAcken), Ciara Finnegan (Crosserlough), Aisling Doonan (Templeport), Catriona Smith (Killygarry), Andrea O’Reilly (Bailieboro), Bronagh Sheridan (Drumlane), Ashling Sheridan (Mullahoran)

Subs: Grainne McGlade (Arva) for Joanne Moore, Beth Farrelly Magee (St. Killians) for Catriona Smith, Ailish Cornyn (St. Francis) for Andrea O’Reilly, Amy Rooney (Kingscourt) for Ciara Finnegan.

Armagh: Anna Carl (Carrickcruppen), Sarah Marley (Lissummon), Caoimhe Morgan (Lissummon), Rebecca O’Reilly (Carrickcruppen), Mairead Tennyson (Silverbridge Harps), Sharon Reel (Carrickcruppen), Clodagh McCambridge (Clann Eireann), Tierna Grimes (St. Peters), Caroline O’Hanlon (Carrickcruppen), Finnuala McKenna (Armagh Harps), Kelly Mallon (Armagh Harps), Blaithin Mackin (Shane O’Neills), Aimee Mackin (Shane O’Neills), Aoife McCoy (Dromintee), Lauren McConville (Crossmaglen Rangers)

Referee J, Gallagher (Dublin)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs