Resounding Win for Tipp


Tipperary 5-10 Meath 2-10

There was a great display of football skills in Sean Treacy Park today Saturday 25th, where Tipperary and Meath went head to head in the fourth round of the Lidl National Football League.  For the entire duration of the first half of the game, Tipperary maintained control but Meath came out at half time and rallied in the second half, however it was not going to be enough to win the game.

It took both teams a while to settle into the game. Each team had a number of wides before Tipperary’s Jennifer Grant fired the ball past Meath’s keeper, Orlagh McLaughlin in the fourth minute of the game. With a great display of team work between Caomihe Condon, Aisling McCarthy and Aishling Moloney, Tipperary worked the ball and earned themselves two goals and a point. In the 10th minute of the game Tipperary keeper, Patricia Hickey was given a yellow card and sent to the sin bin for taking down Fiona O’Neill who was bearing down on goal. With Jennifer Grant now between the posts, Emma White stood up and took full advantage of the penalty and buried it into the back of the net earning Meath’s first score of the game after 10 minutes of play.

This lifted the heads of the Royals as they started coming back into the game with points from Laura Gilsenan, Vikki Wall and Fiona O’Neill bringing the score to Tipperary 3-1 to Meath 1-3. In the 22nd minute Vikki Wall weaved her way in and out of Tipperary defenders before having her shot on goal blocked down by Patricia Hickey who had returned to the Tipperary goal. Tipperary worked the ball down to their forward line, Catherina Walsh made sure Tipperary were coming out of this attack with a score and found the back of the net. Meath quickly responded with a point. In the 25th minute Roisin McGrath send in a beautiful ball to Aishling Moloney who punched the ball into the back of the next for her 2nd goal of the game. Tipperary went into half time in the lead 5-05 to 1-5.

Meath were first on the scoreboard in the second half when a Tipperary kick out landed straight into the hands of Fiona O’Neill who proceeded to send the ball over the bar for a point. Tipperary responded with three unanswered points before Meath showed excellent team work and worked the ball down the field where Megan Thynne finished it off with a point. Meath added to their tally minutes later when Fiona O’Neill pointed from a free. Tipperary responded with two points in quick succession by Moyle Rovers duo Gillan O’Brien and Roisin McGrath. The second half continued to be a much closer contest with Meath closing out the final three scores of the game, finishing off with a goal in the closing moments.


16  Patricia Hickey, Brian Borus
2 Siobhan Condon, Aherlow
3 Emma Buckley, Cahir
4 Elaine Kelly, Cappawhite
5 Brid Condon, Aherlow
6 Samantha Lambert, Ardfinnan (C)
7 Elaine Fitzpatrick, Templemore
8 Jennifer Grant, Brian Borus
9 Gillan O’Brien, Moyle Rovers
10 Roisin McGrath,Moyle Rovers
11 Aisling McCarthy, Cahir
12 Orla O’Dwyer, Boherlahan
13 Catherina Walsh, Moycarkey Borris
19 Caomihe Condon, Brian Borus

15 Aishling Moloney, Cahir
17 Edith Carroll, Galtee Rovers
18 Maria Curley, Templemore
20 Eimear Myles, Brian Borus
21 Rachel O’Donnell, Cahir
22 Laura Dillon, Ardfinnan
23 Roisin Howard, Cahir
24 Mairead Morrissey, Brian Borus
25 Maire Condon, Aherlow
26 Alison Lonergan, Galtee Rovers
27 Nicola Loughnane, Thurles Sarsfields
28 Sarah Everard, Moyle Rovers


1 Orlagh McLaughlin, Royal Gaels

2 Kate Flynn, Summerhill

3 Sarah Powderly, Navan O’Mahonys

4 Siofra Cleary, Donaghmore/ Ashbourne

5 Emma White, St. Pat’s

6 Michelle Peel, Donaghmore/ Ashbourne

7 Márie Keogh, Clann na nGael

8 Niamh O’Sullivan, Royal Gaels (C)

9 Márie O’Shaughnessy, Donaghmore/ Ashbourne

10 Laura Gilsenan, Clann na nGael

11 Bláthnaid Keogh, Clann na nGael

12 Niamh Galloghly, Royal Gaels

13 Fiona O’Neill, Dumboyne

14 Vikki Wall, Dumboyne

15 Megan Thynne, Dunsany



16 Louise Dunne, Summerhill

17 Aisling O’Reilly, Ratoath

18 Joanna Byrne, Oldcastle

19 Catriona Keogan, Skryne

20 Ailbhe McHugh, Simonstown

21 Aoibheann Leahy, Navan O’Mahonys

22 Hannah Heskin, Navan O’Mahonys

23 Rebecca McIntyre, Ratoath

24 Karley Leavey, Trim

25 Niamh Crowe, Summerhill

26 Megan Lyons, Summerhill

27 Gabriele Krivinskaite, Oldcastle

28 Aideen Smith, Moynalvey

29 Orla Byrne, Duleek/ Bellewstown

30 Niamh Rispin, St. Ultans

31 Kate Byrne, Duleek/ Bellewstown


By Aoife Mangan

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs