Sligo close in on third successive Final place

Sligo close in on third successive Final place
By Alan Gunn  

Wexford 1-06
Sligo 2-12


Last Years All Ireland runners up Sligo finished
strongly to hold off a fancied Wexford side at Longford in the TG4
Junior Championship Quarter Final. 

The Leinster Junior champions suffered a major blow before throw
in with Leona Tector unable to start. The early exchanges were
close and hard fought with both sides firing over two points apiece
after ten minutes. Points from Angela Doohan and Therese Marron
edged Sligo in front and they went in at the break leading 0-06
to 0-05. Wexford missing a penalty that was fired wide of the
target by Josie Dwyer as the interval approached.

Wexford came out now facing the elements in the second period
and started very much on top but were guilty of a number of missed
opportunities. Sligo edged two in front before Michelle Hearne
fired a goal for Wexford. However they missed a second penalty
two minutes later with goalkeeper Mary Rose Kelly making the long
journey to drive it wide.

Both missed penalties were to prove costly as Sligo finished
very much on top with goals from Stephanie O’Reilly and Angela
Doohan to set up a last four spot against Clare. Player of the
match award went to Sligo keeper Katrina Connolly who pulled off
some fine saves as well as wonderful handling under the high ball.

Wexford: M R Kelly, M Murray, N Scallan, M Quill, M Kelly, M
Lacey, M O’Neill, D Fox, M Doyle (0-1), S Kehoe, C Scallan, K
Kelly, (0-2), M Hearne (1-1), J Dwyer (0-1), L Everedd (0-1)

Subs: B Curran, N Mohan, L Tector

Sligo: K Connolly, F Maye, C Kennedy, M Keane, T O’Hara, S McTiernan
(0-1), E Flanagan (0-1), L Harte, G O’Gara, B Byrne, A Doohan
(1-1), H Haran (0-3), T Marren (0-2), N Gormley (0-4), L Smyth

Subs: S O’Reilly (1-0), C Benson



Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs