St. Ciaran's Claim TESCO Homegrown PPS Junior A Crown

St Ciaran's v Colaiste Dun lascaigh - Tesco HomeGrown Post Primary School Junior A



St. Ciaran’s Ballygawley 5-08

Colaiste Dun Iascaigh, Cahir 2-09


Goals were to prove vital for St. Ciaran’s Ballygawley as they produced a superb display to defeat Coláiste Dun Iascaigh in the TESCO Homegrown All Ireland Post Primary Schools Junior A Final. It was a perfect attacking display from the Tyrone school who hit the net on five seperate occasions with Shannon Monaghan scoring 3 of those goals. Colasite Dun Iascaigh had already contested an All Ireland Final having reached the Senior A decider a week ago and losing out to Colaiste Iosagain but, unfortunately for the Cahir outfit it was to be a second defeat in the space of a week.


It was Colaiste Dun Iasciagh that started the brighter of the two sides with Rachel Moloney striking the ball to the net. Despite suffering that early blow the St. Ciaran’s team showed plenty of attacking intent of their own and trailed by 4 points after 15 minutes. The turning point in the match came when Megan McClelland drove a beautiful shot into the bottom corner of the Dun Iascaigh net which was followed by a spectacular solo goal from team captain, Eimear McAnespie, who picked up the ball on the wing and ran straight through the defence to finish the ball to the roof of the Colaiste Dun Iascaigh net. Aisling Moloney steadied the ship for Dun Iascaigh as she kicked a lovely point from play to leave the Cahir school trailing by 2 points at half time 2-04 to 1-05.

Colaiste Dun Iascaigh needed a fast start to the second half as they played into a stiff breeze but it was St. Ciaran’s that got off to the better start with Maria Canavan pointing and then Shannon Monaghan struck her first goal of the match to put St. Ciaran’s 6 points ahead. Aoife Corcoran scored a much needed point for the Cahir school but they were struggling to make inroads against a fantastic defensive effort from St. Ciaran’s. One of those defenders, Slaine McCarroll, broke forward well to score her teams next point which was followed by a goal for Shannon Monaghan as her effort at a point was half blocked but looped over Niamh Murray’s head into the net effectively ending the match. Tara O’Hagan did get a goal in reply for Colaiste Dun Iascaigh but with time running out they were always going to struggle and all hope was extinguished when Monaghan completed her hattrick of goals when a fortunate bounce sent her attempted shot at a point over Murphy’s head and into the net. Roisin Howard did score her fourth point for Cahir but the final whistle blew shortly after to confirm St. Ciaran’s Ballygawley as the 2014 TESCO Homegrown PPS Junior A Champions.

Colaiste Dun Iascaigh did battle well throughout the match and the likes of Aoife Corcoran, Rachel Moloney and Roisin Howard did perform well as did their fantastic midfielder and captain Aisling Moloney. St. Ciaran’s Ballygawley did play a brilliant game of football and had stars all over the field. Their entire half back line were excellent with Shauna Stevenson and Player of the Match, Slaine McCaroll particularly impressive, their midfield duo of Cailin McCann and Tara O’Hagan ensured that there was plenty of good ball available to the likes of Maria Canavan, Eimear McAnespie, Shannon Monaghan and Megan McClelland.

Team captain, Eimear McAnespie, celebrated this win with her All Star sisters, Ciara and Aoife, and her mother, former Monaghan legend, Brenda McAnespie who were all in attendance.

St. Ciaran’s Ballygawley: Michaela Kelly, Claire Canavan, Áine Hamill, Meadbh Hamill, Shauna Stevenson, Shannon Stevenson, Slaine McCarroll, Cailin McCann, Tara O’Hagan (1-0), Chloe McCaffrey (0-2), Maria Canavan (0-03), Eimear McAnespie (1-00), Megan McClelland (1-0), Meabh McGinn, Shannon Monaghan (3-01)


Coláiste Dún Iascaigh: Niamh Murphy, Helena Walsh, Rachel O’Donnell, Ciara Hickey, Judita Surplyte, Aoife Corcoran (0-01), Aoife Corcoran (0-01), Fiona Burke, Caoimhe Condon, Aisling Moloney (0-03, 2f), Lauren Noonan, Rachel Moloney (1-00) Kailee Burke, Linda Murphy (0-01), Róisín Howard (0-04, 1f), Katie Farrell



Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs