2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

St Louis win Ulster U-14 crown after hard battle



St. Louis, Monaghan 1-9 St. Joseph’s, Donaghmore 1-5

St. Louis, Monaghan lifted the Ulster U14 title in Armagh
yesterday after a hard fought game against Tyrone champions
St. Joseph’s, Donaghmore. Lively wing forward Caoimhe
Mohan opened the scoring for the Louis as early as the
first minute. Three minutes later and Siobhan Corr had
a great goal chance however player of the match Cheryln
Hughes made the first of a number of fine saves. Mohan
then added her second point and in the fifteenth minute.
St. Joseph’s then opened their account with a Megan Hetherington
goal. The corner forward was quickest to react to an Emma
Mc Cann shot which came of the crossbar and gave Orla
Mc Kenna no chance with her effort from close range. Almost
immediately the Louis had a chance to cancel the goal
when they were awarded a penalty however Eileen Mc Kenna
drove her shot low and wide. On the stroke of half time
Mohan brought her first half tally to three points to
leave the sides level at the break 0-3 to 1-0.

The Donaghmore side had a great start to the second half
when Laura Mc Nally fired over in the first minute. The
Louis responded by scoring and goal and two points in
a six minute spell of dominance. Niamh Maguire fired to
the net each side of two nice Sarah Hughes points. Adrianna
Mc Namee then exchanged points with Edel Mullen. Entering
the final quarter Donaghmore captain Aileen Fox pointed
to cut the deficit to three. The Louis now dug deep and
Sarah Hughes and Caoimhe Mohan extended the lead with
fine points. In the last five minutes of the game Laura
Mc Nally fired over a couple of points for the Tyrone
side but an excellent score from Louis’s Eileen Mc Kenna
ensured a four point victory. After the game joint captains
Tigeann Mc Cormick and Albhe Quinn received the cup from
Ulster schools chairman Louis O Donnell.

Scorers: – St. Louis C. Mohan 0-4, S. Hughes 0-3, N. Maguire
1-0 and E. Mc Kenna 0-1. St. Joseph’s – L. Mc Nally 0-3,
M. Hetherington, A. Fox 0-1 and A. Mc Namee 0-1

Referee – F. Mc Donald


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs