2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Suzuki NFL DIV 3: O'Brien Outstanding as Limerick Advance

Suzuki NFL DIV 3 O’Brien Outstanding as Limerick Advance

Limerick 5-11 Monaghan 2-05

Limerick progressed to the semi-final stage of the Suzuki Div 3 NFL after an over whelming demolition of Monaghan’s second team on Sunday at a very windy Castledaly. Reduced to 14 players after just 20 minutes it was still Limerick that played all the football throughout with corner forward Dympna O’Brien giving an exibition finishing a personal tally of 4-07.
Monaghan with the advantage of the wind in the opening period led after 18 minutes by 3 points to 2 prior to the harsh dismissal. It seemed Monaghan were going to use their numerical advantage when a minute later Sinead McCooey found the net and Joanne Courtney fired over to pull five clear. In injury time of the opening period Dympna O’Brien reduced the deficit to a single point at the break when she hit 1-01 to leave Limerick trailing by 1-04 to 1-03 at the half way mark. Limerick came out in the second half and totally dominated from start to finish with some excellent football. Even with the spare player now back on Dympna O’Brien she still tormented her now two markers and had added to her first half tally 3-04 and Limerick 4-06 before Monaghan got the first score of the half, Limerick’s other goal coming from Olivia Giltenane. Sinead McCooey rattled in Monaghan’s second major but in the end the better team by a mile had the game wrapped up and they were on their way to the semi-final.

Monaghan: Emma O’Harte, Mairead Kerr, Orla McKeown, Martina O’Sullivan, Charlene Graham, Donna Finnegan, Fiona Courtney, Aisling Smyth, Joanne Courtney (0-02), Danielle McGorman, Lavina Connolly (0-02), Niamh Kerr, Amanda Beggan (0-01), Aileen Duffy, Sinead McCooey (2-00)Subs: Helen Hughes, Abigail Duffy, Phllis Coyle
Limerick: Martina Giltenane, Rose Giltenane, Ella O’Shaughnessy, Yvette Moynihan, Aine O’Sullivan, De
irdre Lyons, Sandra O’Brien, Mary Shire, Mary Ita Casey (0-01), Catriona Ambrose, Marie Keating (0-03), Susan Costello, Olivia Giltenane(1-00), Kate Galvin, Dympna O’Brien (4-07)Subs: Louise Higgins, Jessie Quaid

Alan Gunn (Monaghan PRO)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs