Team news: Cavan and Waterford starting 15s for Birr Lidl NFL Division 2 semi-final

Waterford v Cavan, 1.00pm, St Brendan’s Park, Birr, Offaly, (G McMahon)

Waterford ended up topping the Division 2 standings after seeing off Tipperary in their final group outing, to finish at the summit on the head-to-head rule.

That’s pitched the Déise into a last-four clash with Cavan, who secured their spot in the semi-finals with an impressive victory over Tyrone last time out.

Waterford were Division 3 champions two years ago while Cavan fell at the final hurdle against Westmeath last year in their quest to secure top-flight football.

It’s arguably a more competitive Division 2 this year as Armagh dropped from the top tier, while Tipperary have been going great guns since coming up from Division 3.

But Waterford would consider progression to a Division 2 decider as real progress, following a 2017 championship campaign that saw them beat Cork and Kerry in Munster, before they beat Cavan in the qualifiers.

When the sides met in the group stages, Waterford ran out 4-9 to 1-6 winners and Cavan will hope to close the gap.

They’ve had the Sheridans, Bronagh and Aishling, in superb form and Aishling captured a Gourmet Food Parlour O’Connor Cup medal with DCU recently.

Aisling Doonan is another marquee forward for the Breffni girls while Waterford will look to the sharpshooting skills of Maria Delahunty and Aileen Wall.

Waterford team: 

1 Grainne Kenneally Eadestown
2 Kate McGrath Kilrossanty Brickeys
3 Michelle McGrath Ballymacarbry
4 Rebecca Casey Stradbally
5 Mairead Wall Ballymacarbry
6 Emma Murray Comeragh Rangers
7 Megan Dunford Abbeyside
8 Karen McGrath Ballymacarbry
9 Katie Murray Comeragh Rangers
10 Aoife Murray Comeragh Rangers
11 Geraldine Power Comeragh Rangers
12 Lauren McGregor Dungarvan
13 Maria Delahunty Abbeyside
14 Eimear Fennell Abbeyside
15 Aileen Wall Ballymacarbry

Cavan team: 

1 Evelyn Baugh Lurgan
2 Rachel Doonan Templeport
3 Laura Fitzpatrick St Finbars
4 Joanne Moore Lacken
5 Sinead Greene Templeport
6 Mona Sheridan Mullahoran
7 Neasa Byrd Crosserlough
8 Catherine Dolan Lurgan
9 Donna English Arva
10 Gráinne McGlade Arva
11 Bronagh Sheridan Drumlane
12 Aisling Sheridan Mullahoran
13 Roisín O Keefe Lacken
14 Aisling Doonan Templeport
15 Ciara Finnegan Crosserlough

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs