Team news: Cork and Westmeath show their hands ahead of Gaelic Grounds showdown

Monday August 6: TG4 All Ireland Senior Quarter Final 2 – ET if necessary

Cork v Westmeath, 4.45pm, Gaelic Grounds, Limerick – LIVE ON TG4

CORK, the 11-time champions, have their sights set on glory once again and are motoring along quite nicely under the radar.

They regained the Munster title with minimum fuss before seeing off Monaghan and Armagh in Group 2 of the qualifiers to top the pool.

Now they’re eyeing up the challenge of Westmeath, with a semi-final against Donegal or Armagh on offer for the winners.

Cork manager Ephie Fitzgerald has opted for just one change to the starting team that accounted for Armagh last weekend.

Chloe Collins replaced Aisling Kelleher at half-time and Collins is handed a start ahead of Kelleher on this occasion.

Westmeath suffered a big defeat to Galway last time out but a victory over Waterford in round 1 ensured that the Midlanders would contest a quarter-final.

Stephen Maxwell’s charges will need a huge improvement to compete with Cork, as they’ve suffered big losses to provincial winners Galway and Dublin in this championship, while they’re now facing up to the Munster standard-bearers.

Maxwell has made two changes in personnel for this fixtures with Cork, as Laura Brennan and Karen McDermott come into the side to replace Caoimhe Clarke McMahon and Aoife Connolly.

Cork will be anxious to flex their muscles ahead of an expected slot in the semi-finals but this is very much a ‘free shot’ for Westmeath, who have been free from the threat of relegation since beating Waterford.

Maxwell will encourage his players to have a go and with the shackles off, Cork will need to deliver a performance to advance.

Cork team: 

1 Martina O’Brien Clonakilty
2 Chloe Collins Dromtarriffe
3 Roisin Phelan Aghada
4 Melissa Duggan Dohenys
5 Maire O’Callaghan Mourneabbey
6 Shauna Kelly Araglen Desmonds Bui
7 Emma Spillane Bantry Blues
8 Ashling Hutchings Fermoy
9 Hannah Looney Aghada
10 Ciara O’Sullivan Mourneabbey
11 Libby Coppinger St. Colum’s
12 Eimear Scally Eire Og
13 Aine O’Sullivan Beara
14 Doireann O’Sullivan Mourneabbey
15 Orla Finn Kinsale

Westmeath team: 

1 Karen Walsh Milltown
2 Lucy Power The Downs
3 Jennifer Rogers Milltown
4 Rachel Dillon Milltown
5 Fiona Coyle St Marys Rochfortbridge
6 Laura Brennan Garrycastle
7 Nicole Feery Tyrrellspass
8 Maud Annie Foley Coralstown/Kinnegad
9 Karen McDermott St Marys Rochfortbridge
10 Fiona Claffey Foxrock Cabinteely
11 Leanne Slevin Milltown
12 Johanna Maher Tyrrellspass
13 Lucy Mc Cartan St Lomans
14 Laura Lee Walsh Na Fianna
15 Annie Dolan Clan Gaels

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs