Team news from 8 counties ahead of a crucial final round of Group fixtures in the TG4 All-Ireland SFC

MAYO are unchanged while Laois have made one alteration ahead of the crunch TG4 All-Ireland Senior Championship Group 1 fixture between the counties on Saturday.

Mayo, the Connacht champions, and last year’s All-Ireland Intermediate winners, Laois, go head to head at Hastings Insurance MacHale Park in Castlebar for a place in the quarter-finals.

This clash is one of two live TG4 fixtures on Saturday, with the Group 2 meeting of All-Ireland champions Meath and Donegal to follow from Páirc Tailteann at 7.30pm.

For the visit of Laois, Mayo are unchanged from the side that lost out agonisingly to Armagh last weekend, when Aimee Mackin’s last gasp penalty goal claimed victory for the Orchard County.

Laois also lost out to Armagh in this group and have made just one change to the side defeated on June 17, with Andrea Moran coming in for Grainne Moran in attack.

Following the Meath-Donegal clash in Navan, the draw for the TG4 All-Ireland Senior Championship quarter-finals will be made live.

Both Meath and Donegal are safely through following victories over Waterford – but there has been no temptation to make wholesale changes.

A home quarter-final is the reward for each of the four group winners and Meath, fresh from victory over the Déise in Jenny Rispin’s first game in charge as interim manager, are unchanged.

Donegal, meanwhile, make just one change in personnel from the team that defeated Waterford in Round 1, with Ciara McGarvey coming in for Laoise Ryan up front.

In Group 3, Kerry welcome Cavan to Austin Stack Park in Tralee for a 12.30pm start on Saturday.

The Kingdom, who beat Dublin in Round 1, are strongly fancied to win this one and claim a home quarter-final.

There are five changes in personnel to the team that claimed a hard-fought victory against Dublin at Parnell Park.

Ava Doherty, Ciara McCarthy, Amy Harrington, Niamh Carmody and Caoimhe Evans are all handed starts, with Eilis Lynch, Aishling O’Connell, Lorraine Scanlon, Niamh Ní Chonchúir and Hannah O’Donoghue held in reserve.

Visitors Cavan, smarting from a heavy loss to Dublin last weekend, have made just one change to their starting line-up, with Grainne Faulkner coming in for Caoimhe Madden.

Also on Saturday, it’s between Cork and Tipperary for the runners-up spot behind Galway in Group 4.

The Munster rivals meet in Clonakilty and following defeat to Galway in Round 1, Cork boss Shane Ronayne makes two changes to his starting line-up.

Captain Máire O’Callaghan and Orlaith Cahalane come into the team, with Emma Cleary and Sarah Leahy dropping out.

Visitors Tipperary, who lost to Galway last weekend, have named an unchanged team for a 2pm start in west Cork.
There are two live games from the Senior Championship on TG4 on Saturday – as Mayo welcome Laois to Hastings Insurance MacHale Park, Castlebar, for a 1.30pm start, before Meath play host to Donegal at Páirc Tailteann in Navan from 7.30pm.
Those games can be accessed at, while Kerry v Cavan and Cork v Tipperary are available to view via the LGFA’s live-streaming portal:

Mayo: L Brennan; É Ronayne, C McManamon, D Caldwell; T O’Connor, C Needham, K Sullivan (capt.); A Geraghty, F McHale; S Howley, S Cafferky, S Mulvihill; L Cafferky, D Doherty, S Walsh.

Laois: E Barry; S Farrelly, C Dunne, A Kelly; S Havill, E Healy (capt.), L Nerney; A Healy, O Hennessy; A Kirrane, L.M. Maher, A Moran; S.A. Fitzgerald, M Nerney, K Donoghue.

Meath: M McGuirk; A Sheridan, M.K. Lynch, K Newe; M Byrne, S Ennis (capt.), E Duggan; M O’Shaughnessy, A Minogue; M Thynne, V Wall, N Gallogly; O Lally, S Grimes, N O’Sullivan.

Donegal: C Friel; N Carr, A Temple Asoko, E Gallagher; A Boyle Carr, Nicole McLaughlin, T Hegarty; R Rodgers, Niamh McLaughlin (capt.); S White, K Long, K Dowds; N Hegarty, K Herron, C McGarvey.

Kerry: C Butler; A Doherty, K Cronin, C Murphy; C Lynch, E Costello, C McCarthy; L Galvin, A Harrington; N Carmody, D O’Leary, A Galvin; S O’Shea (capt.), C Evans, L Ní Mhuircheartaigh.

Cavan: Róisín O’Reilly; G Faulkner, S Lynch, C Charters; Z Fay, C Brady, Rebecca O’Reilly; N Byrd (capt.), A Cahill; A Walls, A Sheridan, E Halton; G Smith, G Sheridan, A Gilsenan.

Cork: M O’Sullivan; M Duggan, E Meaney, R Phelan; A Ryan, S Kelly, L O’Mahony; M O’Callaghan (capt.), H Looney; D Kiely, K Quirke, C O’Sullivan; O Cahalane, D O’Sullivan, E Kiely.

Tipperary: L Fitzpatrick; E Kelly, L Spillane, E Cronin; M Curley (capt.), L Morrissey, C O’Dwyer; E Morrissey, N Towey; S English, M Murphy, C English; A McGuigan, N Martin, A Moloney.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs