Team news from Longford, Meath, Roscommon and Sligo ahead of Lidl NFL Division 3 semi-finals

Lidl NFL Division 3 – Semi Final – Result on the day

Meath v Longford, 2.45pm, Coralstown/Kinnegad, Westmeath (J Devlin, Galway) – SATURDAY 

Beaten Division 3 Finalists last year, Meath have their sights firmly set on going one step better this time.

The Royals steamed through the group stages, registering 18 points and losing just one game along the way.

They’ve already beaten Saturday’s semi-final opponents Longford this year, by four goals in a 5-12 to 1-12 win.

Longford showed fine grit and character to eke out a semi-final slot, finishing fourth in the standings following a dramatic final round of group fixtures.

The Midlanders are not to be underestimated and have players of genuine class in the likes of Mairead Reynolds and Michelle Farrell.

Meath, the 2018 TG4 All-Ireland Intermediate championship runners-up, will look to in-form Stacey Grimes for attacking thrust.

Lidl NFL Division 3 – Semi Final – Result on the day

Sligo v Roscommon, 12.30pm, Glennon Brothers Pearse Park, Longford (D McEnery, Westmeath) – SATURDAY 

Roscommon and Sligo’s recent rivalry continues as they prepare to lock horns in the Division 3 semi-final.

Last summer, Roscommon ended Sligo’s three-in-a-row hopes in Connacht by landing the TG4 provincial intermediate title.

There was nothing to separate them during the 2019 Lidl League campaign, with both counties finishing on 15 points, although Sligo did get the better of the Rossies when the counties met in the group stages.

This clash will be streamed LIVE on the LGFA’s Facebook Page and is an eagerly-anticipated Connacht derby:

Rebecca Finan is a player to watch in the Roscommon attack, while Sligo’s Emma Keavney can cause damage at the other end.

Longford team: 

  1. Emer Esler    (Carrickedmond)
  2. Rachel O’Farrell   (Carrickedmond)
  3. Leanne Keegan   (Mostrim)
  4. Mairead Moore   (Clonguish)
  5. Orla Nevin   (Longford Slashers)
  6. Eimear O’Brien   (Longford Slashers)
  7. Clare Farrell   (Longford Slashers)
  8. Jacinta Brady   (Killoe)
  9. Mairead Reynolds   (Dromard)
  10. Emer Heaney (C) (Ballymore)
  11. Michelle Farrell   (Colmcille)
  12. Aisling McCormack   (Ballymahon/Forgney)
  13. Anna McDonnell   (Killoe)
  14. Aisling Greene   (Clonguish)
  15. Ciara Healy   (Clonguish)

Meath team: 

1 Monica McGuirk Duleek/Bellewstown
2 Katie Newe Ratoath
3 Sarah Powderly Navan O’Mahonys
4 Shauna Ennis Na Fianna
5 Sarah Wall Dunboyne
6 Aoibhín Cleary Donaghmore/Ashbourne
7 Niamh Gallogly Royal Gaels
8 Máire O’Shaughnessy Donaghmore/Ashbourne
9 Orlagh Lally Clann na nGael
10 Orla Byrne Duleek/Bellewstown
11 Emma Duggan Dunboyne
12 Megan Thynne Dunsany
13 Emma White St Patricks
14 Kelsey Nesbitt Simonstown
15 Stacey Grimes Seneschalstown

Roscommon team: 

1 Helena Cummins Michael Glavey’s
2 Amanda McLoone Garrycastle, Westmeath
3 Sinéad Kenny St Croan’s
4 Honor Ennis St Ciaran’s
5 Shauna Bannon Clann na nGael
6 Tess Murtagh Shannon Gaels
7 Niamh Feeney St Mary’s
8 Joanne Cregg Michael Glavey’s
9 Jenny Higgins Western Gaels
10 Alice Kelly Kilbride
11 Katie Daly Shannon Gaels
12 Laura Fleming St Ciaran’s
13 Siobhán Tully Kilbride
14 Rebecca Finan Éire Óg
15 Sorcha Bruen Shannon Gaels

Sligo team: 

1 Noelle Gormley St. Nathys
2 Aoife Morrisroe Shamrock Gaels
3 Gráinne O’Loughlin St. Michaels
4 Jacqui Mulligan St. Farnans
5 Michelle McNamara Drumcliffe/Rosses Point
6 Bernice Byrne Geevagh
7 Ann Marie Coleman St. Nathys
8 Ruth Goodwin Coolera/Strandhill
9 Laura Ann Laffey Coolera/Strandhill
10 Lauren Boles St. Michaels
11 Ciara Gorman St. Nathys
12 Sinéad Naughton Eoghan Rua
13 Una Higgins Eastern Harps
14 Emma Keavney St. Patricks
15 Lisa Casey Eastern Harps


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs