Team news: Galway and Westmeath battle it out to decide top spot in Group 3

TG4 All Ireland Senior Championship – Group 3 – Round 3 

Saturday July 28

Westmeath v Galway, 2.00pm, Duggan Park, Ballinasloe, Galway, (K Corcoran, Mayo)

Galway and Westmeath are also safely through to the TG4 All-Ireland quarter-finals – and this tie will determine who finishes on top of Group 3.

The winners of this game will face either Mayo or Dublin in the last eight – depending on who finishes second from Group 4.

Westmeath have had a fortnight off after edging past Waterford by just a single point in their opening group game.

Manager Stephen Maxwell has opted for an unchanged starting 15 which includes Leanne Slevin, match-winner against the Déise and scorer of five pointed frees in that game.

Galway boss Stephen Glennon has also opted for an unchanged team following last weekend’s 16-point defeat of Waterford.

The Connacht champions are one of the leading contenders for All-Ireland glory in September and football in the county is currently riding the crest of a wave, following recent national titles for the Minor A and U16 A teams.

Westmeath team: 

1 Karen Walsh Milltown
2 Lucy Power The Downs
3 Rachel Dillon Milltown
4 Nicole Feery Tyrrellspass
5 Fiona Coyle Rochfortbridge
6 Jennifer Rogers Milltown
7 Caoimhe Clarke McMahon Loughnavalley
8 Karen McDermott Rochfortbridge
9 Maud Annie Foley Coralstown/Kinnegad
10 Fiona Claffey Foxrock Cabinteely
11 Leanne Slevin Milltown
12 Annie Dolan Clan Gaels
13 Aoife Connolly Garrycastle
14 Lucy Mc Cartan St Lomans
15 Laura Lee Walsh Na Fianna

Galway team: 

1 Lisa Murphy Kilkerrin/Clonberne
2 Fabienne Cooney Claregalway
3 Sarah Lynch Naomh Anna Leitir Moir
4 Sinead Burke Ballyboden St. Enda’s
5 Emer Flaherty Tuam/Cortoon
6 Nicola Ward Kilkerrin/Clonberne
7 Charlotte Cooney Claregalway
8 Louise Ward Kilkerrin/Clonberne
9 Ailbhe Davoren Moycullen
10 Olivia Divilly Kilkerrin/Clonberne
11 Tracey Leonard Corofin
12 Aine McDonagh Moycullen
13 Mairead Seoighe Clonbur
14 Roisin Leonard Corofin
15 Leanne Coen Corofin


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs