TESCO HomeGrown Post Primary Schools Finals

The TESCO HomeGrown All Ireland Post Primary School’s Finals take place during the course of the next fortnight with the Senior ‘B’ and ‘C’ finals down for decision this weekend. The TESCO HomeGrown PPS Senior B Final features the meeting of St. Joseph’s Mercy, Navan who will face St. Mary’s Macroom whilst the Senior C final sees Scoil Críost Rí from Portlaoise take on Virginia College Cavan.


The TESCO HomeGrown PPS Senior B final will take place at Freshford in Kilkenny on Saturday at 2pm. St. Joseph’s Mercy from Navan will take on St. Mary’s Macroom in what promises to be a highly entertaining encounter between two top quality teams. St. Joseph’s produced a dominant performance in their semi-final victory over Ursuline College, Sligo with a 5 goal display ensuring their place in Saturday’s final. They were equally impressive in the Leinster Final as they again showed no mercy in front of goal as they hit the net on no fewer than 9 occasions against Mountmellick. St. Mary’s Macroom are sure to be in confident form in the Senior B decider as they too have shown a ruthless streak in front of goal with 18 goals in the competition to date. Their progress through to the final has been extremely impressive as no team has been able to get within 10 points of the Cork girls. This promises to be a high scoring shoot out in Kilkenny.


Scoil Críost Rí from Portlaoise will meet Virginia College, Cavan in the TESCO HomeGrown PPS Senior C final. Scoil Críost Rí from Portlaoise have shown their battling qualities on their path to the final as they have overcome several stiff tests, none more so than their 3 point victory over Scoil Bhride from Tuam in the Semi Final. The Portlaoise girls will be well prepared for the pressure of the occasion as they draw from the experience of manager, Geraldine O’Flynn, who is an All Star Half Back and 7 time All Ireland winner with Cork. Virginia College, Cavan enjoyed some comprehensive victories in the previous rounds but were pushed all the way in the semi final when they faced Scoil Muire, Carrick on Suir, the Cavan girl’s ability to score goals proved to be the difference between the two sides as they emerged with a 2 point victory. Both sides in this final have shown reserves of determination in their previous encounters and a close fought match is in prospect in Kinnegad at 1.30pm in Kinnegad.


The TESCO HomeGrown Post Primary School’s Finals will also feature action in the three Junior finals along with the Senior A final. The Senior A final will take place on Wednesday next, March 20th at MacDonagh Park in Nenagh with Presentation Athenry meeting Loreto Fermoy. The Junior A Final will also take place on Wednesday at the Connacht Centre of Excellence  at 2.30 when Glenamaddy C.S, Galway face St. Paul’s Bessbrook from Armagh. The last two finals take place on Saturday the 23rd of March at 2pm with St. Joseph’s Rochfortbridge contesting the Junior B Final against St. Mary’s Macroom and the Junior C final will see Christ the King from Douglas in Cork and Loreto St. Michael’s from Navan battling it out for the title.


NOTE: Pictures from the TESCO HomeGrown PPS Captain’s Day are available FOC from Sportsfile.


TESCO HomeGrown Post Primary School’s Final Fixtures:


Saturday, March 16th


Senior B Final:        St. Joseph’s Mercy, Navan v St. Mary’s Macroom

Venue: Freshford. Throw In 2pm


Senior C Final:        Scoil Criost Rí v Virginia College Cavan

Venue: Kinnegad, Throw In 1.30pm.


Wednesday, March 20th


Senior A Final:        Presentation Athenry v Loreto Fermoy

Venue: MacDonagh Park, Nenagh. Throw in 12.30


Junior A Final:        Glenamaddy C.S. Galway v St. Paul’s, Bessbrook, Armagh

Venue: Connacht Centre of Excellence. Throw In 2.30pm


Saturday, March 23rd


Junior B Final:         St. Joseph’s Rochforthbridge v St. Mary’s Macroom

Venue TBC, Throw In 2pm


Junior C Final:         Christ the King, Douglas, Cork v Loreto St. Michael’s, Navan

Venue TBC, Throw In 2pm

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs